Down students win Trinity College awards

Six students from Down have been awarded special Entrance Exhibition Awards from Trinity College Dublin.

They are - Leah Ester Henning (Banbridge Academy), Calum MacAnutly (Abbey CBS Grammar), Never Alexandra McGuicken (Sullivan Upper), Fergal Mooney (Down High School), Christopher Matthew Murray (Dromore High School) and Maeve Watters (Sacred Heart Grammar) The awards go to the student accepted into the first year of a full-time undergraduate degree programme who achieves the highest points among Trinity entrants from their secondary school, above a minimum of 500 CAO points.

Many former awardees have gone on to make a significant contribution to the economic, cultural, and political life of Ireland and beyond. Past Exhibitioners include Tanaiste and former Taoiseach Leo Varadkar.

The Entrance Exhibition Awards were awarded to 322 students from Leinster, 75 from Munster, 61 from Ulster, 52 from Connacht and 17 international students from Germany, Italy, United Kingdom, Sweden, Belgium, Croatia, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Hungary, Spain, France, Poland, Norway, Austria and Netherlands.

Awardees will receive a certificate and a €150 book token.