Graduation Day at NW Regional College

Over 250 students were recognised today at a special graduation ceremony for those achieving Access qualifications from North West Regional College (NWRC).

Claire Nixon with Daughter Cadhla together at the North West Regional College Access Graduation ceremony

The ceremony, which was held at the City Hotel Derry, marked the conclusion of study on a number of courses specifically designed for adult learners:- Access Diploma in Combined Studies (Humanities), Access Diploma in Science, and the Access Certificate in Health & Welfare.

The Access programmes of study at NWRC are offered across the college’s main campuses providing students returning to education with a pathway onto degree study at university, and offer incentives to move directly into employment.

The students were presented with their awards by College Principal and Chief Executive Seamus Murphy, who paid tribute to the efforts of the students: “Those graduating today have achieved recognised vocational qualifications, boosted their confidence and are well placed to make a contribution to the local economy. I warmly congratulate all those who received awards today, and wish them every success for the future.”

Special Awards

Access Diploma in combined studies award for outstanding commitment and achievement: Tara Boyle, Roisin Doherty, Luljeta Mehmeti-Quigley, Ciaran O’Brien

Part-time Access Diploma in Combined Studies Award for highest marks, Michael Anderson.

Full-time Access Diploma in Combined Studies Award for highest marks, Mary Hegarty.

Seamus McCaul Memorial Award, Access Diploma in combined studies and Adult Learner of the Year: Michael Lafferty.

Whyte Trophy, for achievement in Access Diploma in combined studies, Limavady, jointly awarded to Una Copestake and Roisin Farren.

Access Health & Welfare Award for Highest Academic Achievement: Full-time, Charlene Leonard; part-time, Laura Murray.

Lucia O’Kane award, for excellent commitment and participation on Access health and welfare: Part-time Leo Anderson; full-time, Michelle Robinson.

Access Diploma in Combined Studies: Michael Anderson, Kevin Atcheson, Paula Begley, Tara Boyle, Anita Bradley, Christopher Bradley, Emily Bradley, Joseph Bradley, Kim Bradley, Michael Breslin, Fionnuala Callan, Neil Canning, Wendy Canning, Samantha Carland, Kayleigh Carlin, Leona Craig, Gavin Curran, Caroline Devenney, Eilish Devenney, Caoimhe Doherty, Geraldine Doherty, Roisin Doherty, Nicola Donnell, Aaron Doyle, Claire Duffy, Jade Duncan, David Falconer, Stacy Feeney, Eoin Gallagher, Niall Grace, Gerard Green, Poppy Griffiths, Jason Grogan, Mary Hamilton, Blanaid Harkin, Edele Harkin, Kerry Ann Harrigan, Kevin Heaney, Arlene Hegarty, Charlene Hegarty, Jimmy Hegarty, Mary Hegarty, Colin Irwin, Peter Irwine, Elizabeth Kelly, Paul Kelly, Michael Lafferty, Martin Leonard, Amy Loughrey, Cathal Lynch, Dominic Lynott, Leah Martin, Bernadette McAnee, Bryan McBay, Georgina McCallion, James McCallion, Sinead McCallion, Antonia McCann, Catherine McCarron, Corina McClean, Annmarie McDaid, Cathal McDaid, Liam McDaid, Paul McDaid, Gearoid McDermott, Glenn McGarrigle, Michelle McGinn, Attracta McGlinchey, Joseph McGoldrick, Eamon McGonagle, Letitia McGonagle, Greg McKinley, Brenda McLaughlin, James McLaughlin, Paul McLaughlin, Rosaleen McLaughlin, Stacy McLaughlin, Aodhan McMenamin, Ciaran McMenamin, Damien McMonagle, Luljeta Mehmeti-Quigley, Ryan Monaghan, Christopher Moore, Steven Moore, Stephen Mullan, Corinne Murphy, Elizabeth Neely, Sean Nicholas, Claire Nixon, Kenneth Nixon, Ciaran O’Brien, Caroline O’Connor, Niall O’Connor, Nicole O’Connor, Karen O’Donnell, Myles O’Hagan, Jacklyn O’Haire, Callum O’Kane, Marcas O’Kane, Dean O’Neill, Janice Peck, Adam Pyper, David Quigg, Lewis Reed, Ciaran Ryan, Thomas Shearring, Leona Smythe, Audrina Spence, Grainne Stewart, Ian Stewart, Caolan Stones, Jonathan Taylor, Sandra Taylor, Mark Thomas, Victoria Thompson, David Thornton, Lina Tylunaite, Paddy Walsh, Nuala Ward, Lisa White, Lee Woods,Hayleigh Young.

Access Diploma in Combined Studies, Limavady: Krista Anderson, Roger Canning, Una Copestake, Roisin Farren, Meghan Gilleece, Sharon Hylands, Majella McCloskey, Nuala McIntyre, Declan Toner.

Access Certificate in Health & Welfare: Leo Anderson, Jessica Beckett, Danielle Boyle, Terri Brewer, Eoin Browne, Melissa Callaghan, Anna Carlin, Christina Carlin, Angela Catney, Wendy Coogan, Jacqueline Coyle, Haley Crane, Fiona Crawford, Gerrie Curry, Yvette Darcy, Annette Deehan, Siobhan Dobbins, Lindsey Doggett, Eliza Doherty, Kevin Doherty, Rory Doherty, Michelle Dolan, Samantha Dolan, Patty Donohue, Lucinda Doran, Kelly Downey, Nicola Duddy, Biathnaid Duffin, Kerry Dunlop, Michelle Forrest, Canice Francis, Grace Gallagher, Pauline Gallagher, Robert Gallagher, Roisin Gallagher, Caroline Gibney, Laura Gill, Shauna Gillespie, Emma Glenn, Christina Green, Jacqueline Gurney, Amy Hamilton, Malachy Harkin, Ann Marie Harrigan, Siobhan Hewitson, Julie Anne Houston, Christine Johnstone, Sinead Keating, Finvola Kerlin, Beata Komakowska, Lorraine Laverty, Charlene Leonard, Stephanie Logue, Marcella Love, Jacqueline Lynch, Yvonne MacBride, Sinead McAnee, Siobhan McCloskey, Claire McDaid, Frances McDermott, Una McDevitt, Natalie McElhinney, Doreen McGee, Ciara McGonagle, Nichola McGrinder, Jill McKean, Kieran McKinney, Christina McLaughlin, John McLaughlin, Emma McMonagle, James McMonagle, Tamara McShane, Lyndsey Morgan, Emma Murphy, Laura Murray, Majella Neeson, Natasha Nicholl, Catriona ODonnell, Stevie-Anne OKane, Gemma Oxley, Cora Quinn, Michelle Robinson, Patricia Robinson, Lisa Schmid, Kathleen Simms, Christina Slavin, Gillian Smyth, Kelley Tracey, Elaine White.

Access Diploma in Science: Laura Boyle, Kayleigh Caldwell, Shane Coyle, Karen Dinsmore, David Dunne, Michael Gormley, Emma Green, Dominic Harper, Emma-Lee Johnston, Claire Kelly, Gemma Kelly, Douglas Luffman, Gary McCallion, Keith McClenaghan, Sharron McCormick, Alison McDaid, Kerry McDonald, Gemma McGee, Joseph McGoldrick, Joe McLaughlin, Audrey McMenamin, Gerard McNamee, Shane McNutt, Michelle O’Doherty, Mark Sproule.