DUP reveals Lisburn council candidates

THE DUP will be fielding 15 candidates in the forthcoming Lisburn council elections.

In Lisburn Town South the candidates will be the three sitting councillors - Andrew Ewing, Jenny Palmer, Roy Young and Paul Porter.

In Lisburn Town North the sitting councillosr Jonathan Craig, Paul Givan and William Leathem will be joined by newcomer Ben Mallon.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

In Killultagh John Palmer will be on the ticket with outgoing council members Thomas Beckett and James Tinsley.

In Downshire the candidates will be Councillors Allan Ewart and Paul Stewart along with Uel Mackin while in Dunmurry Cross Councillor Margaret Tolerton will be the party nominee.

The party’s Council Group Leader William Leathem said: “The DUP has an impressive array of candidates to put before the electorate. As a united team we will be standing on the basis of our strong leadership over the past six years as the largest party on Lisburn City Council.

“In 2005 we promised to bring the fiscal management of Lisburn City Council under control after many years of double-digit increases in the rates, well above the level of inflation.

“Over the past six years rates, in real terms, have decreased with rises each year below the level of inflation averaging at 2% per annum resulting in Lisburn being one of lowest councils in Northern Ireland for rates.

“In tandem with stringent fiscal control the DUP has delivered vast investment into the City and delivered key flagship projects including the £1m play facilities in Wallace Park as part of a multi-million pound project to revitalise the people’s park.

“We will be seeking a mandate to continue the work of developing first class facilities through the most efficient use of ratepayers’ money and I believe the public will respond to our positive message and agenda for leading Lisburn forward into the next four years,” he concluded.