Former MLAs received thousands in winding-up allowances

FORMER members of the Stormont Assembly - including Foyle SDLP MLA Mark Durkan and East Londonderry Sinn Féin MLA Francie Brolly - were paid a collective £152,700 in winding-up allowances following their resignations since 2007.

Mr Durkan has been paid 4,545.81 to date following his resignation this year, whilst Mr Brolly received 15,286.97 following his resignation last year.

Other recipients were former DUP MLAs David Burnside, Iris Robinson, William McCrea, Ian Paisley Jnr, David Simpson, Jeffrey Donaldson and Nigel Dodds, former SDLP MLA Carmel Hanna and former Alliance MLA Naomi Long.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

UUP leader Tom Elliott asked the Northern Ireland Assembly Question to list all members who have resigned from the Assembly since 2007 and to detail how much each member received.

Responding as a representative of the Assembly Commission, Foyle MLA Pat Ramsey, stated: "Winding-up allowance is payable under the provisions of the Allowances to Members of the Assembly Act (Northern Ireland) 2000 to former Members of the Assembly.

"Although the Assembly Question relates to former Members who have resigned, Winding-up allowance is also payable to former Members who do not stand for re-election to the Assembly or are not returned as a Member."