How the people of Lagan Valley voted

The turnout across the constituency was up more than nine per cent on last year's election.

Counting the votes at Lagan Valley LeisurePlex.

The turnout figure of 62.57 per cent was the highest for an Assembly election in Lagan Valley since 1998.

Here’s the story of the count in numbers:

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Eligible electorate: 72,621. Ballot papers counted: 45,440. Valid papers: 45,069. Quota: 7,512.

The full first preference vote was as follows:

Dan Barrios-O’Neill (Green Party NI) - 912

Robbie Butler (UUP) - 6,846

Pat Catney (SDLP) - 3,795

Peter Doran (Sinn Fein) - 1,801

Paul Givan (DUP) - 8,035

Keith Gray (Independent) - 76

Brenda Hale (DUP) - 4,566

Trevor Lunn (Alliance) - 6,105

Samuel Morrison (TUV) - 1,389

Jonny Orr (Independent) - 856

Jennifer Palmer (UUP) - 4,492

Edwin Poots (DUP) - 6,013

Matthew Robinson (NI Conservatives) - 183

Summary of the night’s events: Stage 1: Paul Givan elected, Keith Gray and Matthew Robinson eliminated; Stage 2: Transfer of Givan’s surplus; Stage 3: Jonny Orr eliminated; Stage 4: Dan Barrios-O’Neill eliminated; Stage 5: Peter Doran and Samuel Morrison eliminated; Stage 6: Jenny Palmer eliminated; Stage 7: Robbie Butler and Trevor Lunn elected; Stage 8: Brenda Hale eliminated; Pat Catney elected.