More driving results and goat winners

The Lurgan and District Horse and Cattle show results from classes 10 to 15 on Saturday are as follows:

Class (10) Driving Class under 13.2 hands to a Gig or 4 wheel trad. type vehicle won by George Acres (Wicklow) ‘Ballykeppogue Snow Storm’ driven to a Back to Back Gig.

Class (11) Concours D’elegance – Judged by Mrs. Ann Lyons – won by Kevin Teggart (Newry) driving ‘Bennett’s Castle Joe’ to a phaeton: 2ND James Creighton (Saintfield) driving ‘Felix’ to a London Trolley: 3RD George Acres (Wicklow) ‘Ballykeppogue Snow Storm’ to a Back to Back Gig.

Class (12) Country Turnout won by Martin Tierney (Lurgan) driving ‘Boconnell Tommy’ to a Ralli Car.

Class (13) Lady Whip won by Suzanne Acres (Wicklow) ‘Ballykeppogue Snow Storm’.

Class (14) Junior Whip (judged on the ability of the Whip to drive the turnout) won by Ruari Creighton (Saintfield) ‘Felix’: 2ND John Weir jnr. ‘Milltown Boy’: 3RD James Presho ‘Snowy Bear’: 4TH Ross Ewing ‘Sprog’

Class (15) Light Trade won by Bobby Mc Williams (Dromore) driving ‘Lifford Willie’ to a Pickering Float: 2ND Alex Presho driving Norman Brown’s ‘Rosehall Tara Queen’ to a Butchers Cart: 3RD John Weir ‘Milltown Boy’ to a Milk Float: 4TH James Creighton ‘Felix’ to a London Trolley’.

The cup winners in the goat section are as follows:

Results of Cup Winners are as follows:

Show Society Cup for Champion Goat in Show-

Miss Fiona Armstrong, Saintfield- Armcott Torte

Cunningham Cup for Reserve Champion-

Mr Lindsay Greer, Banbridge- Taitstown Akkelah

Bertie Toal Cup for Best Goatling in Show-

Mr Arthur Mullan, Newry- Corrinshego Amber

Tom Houston Cup for Champion Kid in Show-

Mrs Marie Cherry, Templepatrick- Ballymartin Lynne

Bertie Toal Cup for Group Winner of three animals-

Mr Lindsay Greer, Banbridge

Buchanan Cup for Best non-pedigree kid or goatling in show-

Mr Arthur Mullan, Newry

Mary Bloomer for Young Handler-16 yrs and under

Miss K Mullan, Newry

The goat section at this year’s Lurgan Show again proved successful. The judge for the goat section was Mr Richard Stewart, Portadown.

The show society would like to thank Mr Stewart for kindly judging and also Mrs Mary Bloomer MBE for generous sponsorship towards the Champion and Reserve Championship prize fund.