Transition committee visit

Environment Minister Mark H Durkan has continued his series of meetings with the key council groups driving local government reform.

Last week Minister took part in the meeting of the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Statutory Transition Committee (STC) which was held at Craigavon Civic Centre.

Mr Durkan said: “The STCs are playing a critical role in helping to drive local government reform and prepare for the new 11 councils which will come into being in shadow form after the elections next May. This reform programme is a partnership between local and central government and last night’s meeting provided a beneficial opportunity for us to discuss progress and exchange information.

“Going forward, I will support the changing role of the three existing councils and provide them with a robust and comprehensive legislative and operational framework so that the newly created Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon District Council is open for business in April 2015.”

STCs are responsible for leading convergence between merging councils.