Academy hold hockey dinner

BANBRIDGE Academy held their annual hockey dinner at the Belmont Hotel on May 2.

One-hundred-and-twenty players met at the Belmont for the annual prizegiving awards in the company of guest speaker Mr John Clarke, ex-Ulster and Ireland senior mens coach.

The awards went as follows:

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

U12 - Player of the Year - Joel Reid; Most Improved - Ben Russell

U13 - Player of the Year - Jake Rowe; Most Improved - Steven Campbell

U14 - Player of the Year - James Brown; Most Improved - Aaron Megaw

U15 - Player of the Year - Johnny McKee; Most Improved - Matthew Hurst

Second XI - Player of the Year - Michael Colussi; Most Improved - Aaron Megaw

First XI - Player of the Year - Matthew Bell; Most Improved - Michael Anderson

Clubman of the Year - Matthew Bell

Senior Hotshot - Owen Magee

Junior Hotshot - Jake Rowe

Captain of the Year - Owen Magee for leading the school to Irish and Ulster Schools’ glory.

The Oxford Cup for being the leading ambassador for the game was awarded to Charlie Norris from the Under 12 side who has became a pivotal player for the Year 8 side. His level of dedication and development over this season earned him this prestigious award.

A special presentation was given to all the current Upper Sixth players for their future moves to universities and work both home and further afield. Their influence on the game of hockey at the school will be missed but we hope they leave our Academy with fond memories.

The teams are sponsored by the Belmont Hotel, Banbridge and NFU Mutual, Banbridge. The sports draw was sponsored by Shoefair Sports, Banbridge.