Adam (16) secures Killymurris finals night place

ADAM Chesney will be the centre of attention at tonight’s (Tuesday) Killymurris Glarryford singles tournament finals night.

The 16-year-old Dunclug College student will be by some distance the youngest member of the finals night line-up, which was completed last night (Monday).

Adam, representing Grange Presbyterian Church produced a superb performance to beat hugely experienced First Ahoghill stalwart Tom Morrison by nine shots to six in Saturday’s qualifying heat to claim one of the finals night places.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Local representation will be swelled by Andy Duncan’s appearance in the final – the Second Donegore player’s grandparents aremembers of the Killymurris congregation which should add to his level of support.

Doran Turtle (Broughshane Playing Fields Association) is the third Mid-Antrim player in tonight’s line-up after he beat Golf Club’s Paul Stevenson 7-4 on Friday night.

Results from the during the week were:


Semi-finals: Ivan Craig (Michelin) 3, Nicky Haire (Hillsborough) 8; Michael Wilson (Michelin) 10, Joe Moore (Finvoy) 8. Final – Wilson 3, Haire 9.

Semi-finals: Robert Black (BPFA) 8, Ken Shirley (Liscolman) 9; Andrew Gaston (First Ahoghill) 9, Jim Richardson (Duneane) 8. Final – Shirley 10, Graham 7.


Semi-finals: Helen Maybin (First Ahoghill) 3, Johnny Wilson (Tullylish) 14; Stephen Young (All Saints, Larne) 3, Andrew Morrison (First Ahoghill) 12. Final – Wilson 9, Morrison 5.

Semi-finals: Brian Trimble (Old Bleach) 10, P Hagan (Donaghmore) 3; Glen Harvey (Annahilt) 11, Nigel Gamble (Loughanreagh) 10. Final – Trimble 3, Harvey 8.


Semi-finals: Tom Lithco (Michelin) 3, Andrew Leckey (St Mark’s Portadown) 8; Ryan O’Neill (United Services) 9, B Clinghan (Hillsborough) 3. Final – Leckey 7, O’Neill 6.

Semi-finals: Andrew Duncan (Second Donegore) 9, Simon Cavan (Spa) 8; Martin Craig (BPFA) 5, W Caldwell Michelin) 8. Final – Duncan 8, Caldwell 4.


Semi-finals: David Shaw (Dunloy) 10, James McWhirter (Killymurris Glarryford) 8; Norman McNeill (Ballyweaney) bt Ian Dunlop (Killymurris Glarryford). Final – Shaw 7, McNeill 6.

Semi-finals: Jonthan Millar (BUSC) 2, Doran Turtle (BPFA) 11; Alan McCombe (Grange) 6, Paul Stevenson (Golf Club) 8. Final – Turtle 7, Stevenson 4.


Semi-finals: Tom Morrison (First Ahoghill) 7, N Hamilton (Hillsborough) 6; Adam Chesney (Grange) 9, A Davidson (First Broughshane) 2. Final – Morrison 6, Chesney 9.

Semi-finals: Betty Watson (First Ahoghill) 6, James Rutledge (Sixmilescross) 7; David Hamilton (Hillsborough) 10, Norman Rutledge (Sixmilescross) 8. Final – Rutledge 2, Hamilton 10.