Ballyvally hosts UK Junior Field Archery Championships

BALLYVALLY Archery Club were delighted to host the 2010 UK Junior Field Archery Championships in July at Whyte's Estate, Loughbrickland, which meant that 56 Ballyvally Buckaroos were able to compete in the National competition.

The weather stayed dry for the two days and juniors from 5-18 years of age enjoyed a challenging course, including shooting from a tower in the forest, thanks to Houtman Scaffolding.

The event ran very smoothly and thanks are due to Tournament Organiser Eddie McLean, Course Layers Damien Lennon and Frank Mulligan and Judges Frank Mulligan, Patricia Mulligan, Robert Nesbitt, Ashley Russell-Cowan, Deidre Shannon, Anne Lavery and Lewis Gamble.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

All the archers also appreciated the work of Pat Gamble, Stephanie Barr, Nicola Stevenson and Helen Richmond in the kitchen who provided a second breakfast for some and lunch for many. Finally the club would like to thank all the parents who scored for the juniors over the two-day competition.

Ballyvally Juniors competed well in their home forest and their excellent results demonstrate that.

UK Junior award winners from Ballyvally Archery Club were as follows;

Boys Barebow U8 - Magnus Naeri, Girls Barebow U8 - Emily Stevenson, Boys Barebow U10 green peg - Luke Gilmore, Boys Barebow U10 yellow peg - Luke McConnell, Boys Traditional U10 - Rhys Walker, Girls Barebow U12 yellow peg - Natasha Thompson, Girls Compound Barebow U12 yellow peg - Natasha Graham, Girls Barebow U12 white peg - Molly Stevenson; Girls Traditional U12 - Gina Woods, Boys Barebow U12 - Matthew Corbett, Boys Trad U12 - Joel Bell, Boys Compound Barebow U12 - Mark Hamilton, Boys Barebow U15 - Ben Quigg, Boys Compound Unlimited U15 - Robert Wheatley, Boys Longbow U15 - Alistair Richmond, Girls Barebow U15 - Rebecca Corbett, Girls Compound Barebow U15 - Shannon Graham, Girls Traditional U15 - Lauren Corbett, Girls Compound Unlimited U15 - Rebecca Lennon, Girls Barebow U18 white peg - Christie Barr, Girls Barebow U18 blue peg - Jenny Winson, Girls Compound Barebow U18 - Morgan Russell-Cowan, Girls Recurve Freestyle U18 - Emer Montgomery, Girls Traditional U18; Shannon Russell-Cowan, Boys Barebow U18 - Robert Mallon, Boys Compound Barebow U18 - Dean Hamilton, Boys Traditional U18 - Matthew Gilmore; Boys Recurve Freestyle U18 - Peter Lavery.

Northern Ireland Archery Society Combined Field/Target competition - Congratulations to all those members of competed and shot well at the very first combined Field/Target shoot at Boucher Road, especially to Ballyvally Junior, Robert Mallon, who won the overall President’s Trophy for the top male score.