Bangers and smash at Aghadowey

Aghadowey Stock Car Stadium Championships were held at the weekend.

The weekend meetings were kindly sponsored by Maine Surface Finishing, Specialists in powder coating, shot blasting and wet spaying , 42 Galdanagh Road, Dunloy, telephone 028 27657075.

On Friday night two heats were held for each class and the evening was rounded off with a 1600 Lightning Rod Mechanics Race.

Racing commenced at 1.00pm on Saturday when each class raced another three heats.

Just before the final heats were completed there was a torrential downpour which made the track slippy for the last heat and this added to the excitement of the racing.

A break was held during which time various teams competed in a Tug Of War.

This proved popular and a Ladies Team, Spectators Team and Banger Drivers team bagged themselves some champagne.

Once again the sun shone at Aghadowey as the Drivers Parade Lap took place around 7.00pm and then the Aghadowey Stock Car Stadium Championship finals took place.

Results as follows:

Open Hot Rods


1st David Gurney Drumahoe

2nd Lindsay Ferry Dungannnon

3rd Geoffrey Nevin Macosquin

4th Richard Stewart Aghadowey

5th Robin Morrow Glenarm

1600 Lightning Rods


1st Sammy Stewart Castlerock

2nd Owen Cunning Castlerock

3rd Robert McIlroy ` Aghadowey

4th Paul Dunn Articlave

5th Mark Dunlop Ballymoney

1600 Bangers


1st John Joe McAfee Derrykeighan

2nd Mark McLaughlin Coleraine

3rd Lee McCloy Ballymoney

4th Roy White Castleroe

5th Brian McMullan Ballycastle

Junior Stocks


1st Aaron Brunton Draperstown

2nd Glen White Macosquin

3rd Lauren McIlroy Aghadowey

4th Shannon Morrow Glenarm

2L Sierras


1st Peter Henderson Articlave

2nd Dessie Kearney Coleraine

3rd Andrew Percy Randalstown

4th Campbell Percy Randalstown

The weekend meetings finished with a Destruction Derby sponsored by Norman Purdy Scrap Metal Merchants, telephone 07710168823. There was a great turnout of cars including BMWs, Mercedes, Escorts, and Jaguars but the winning car was a Ford Mondeo driven by Karl Smyth from Garvagh.

Next meeting will be held on Friday 2 July, racing starts at 7.15pm.