Bowls News

Northern Zone

A friendly match between the Northern Zone and Mid-Antrim Zone has been arranged for Saturday 12th October at 2.00pm in the Ballybrakes Stadium.

The match will be played on 6 mats and players should be in the hall by 1.45pm. Dress is casual. Any player not available to play should contact Edwin Irwin on either 70352261 or 07732646566

The team is as follows:

Rink1: G. Steel, Loughanreagh, D. Gaile, St Mary’s, A. Cassley, Marian, A. Steele, Loughanreagh

Rink 2: A. Hunter, Finvoy, D. Reilly, A. Irwin, I. Ross, Loughanreagh

Rink 3: M. Shaw, Dunloy, T. Workman, Moneydig, N. Gamble, Loughanreagh, W. McCaw, Marian

Rink4: J. Elder, CRFC, N. McCaw, 2nd Kilrea, James Martin, B. McAlary, Marian

Rink 5: M. Jones, Finvoy, C. Jones, Finvoy, S. Brewster, Ballinrees, J. Calvin, Ballinrees

Rink 6: W. Calvin, Ballinrees, U. Gordon, Ballinrees, J. Moore, Finvoy, E. Irwin, Loughanreagh

Reserves: J. McKee, Loughanreagh, N. McMullan, Loughanreagh, R. Hunter, Finvoy.

Burnside Open Pairs

The Club’s annual tournament will be held from Tuesday 15 October to Friday 18 October with the finals taking place on Saturday 19 October. The games will be played in the Church Hall on Mill Road, Portstewart.

Organisers are looking forward to seeing new entrants and those who have supported them in the past.

Entries can be made by contacting E Murdock on 7083 3179.

Ballybrakes Stadium

The stadium is also open again this year on a Wednesday afternoon for “Fun Bowls” and is open to member and non-members so come along and enjoy the craic. Cost is £4 for non-members and £3 for members.

The stadium has now opened for the winter season and the Leagues commenced on Monday 7th October.

Tuesday Evening draw

C Stewart v S Mitchell

R French v R Calvin

A Scott v R McClure

A McKillop v A McClelland

Second Kilrea shock champions

In the opening game of this year’s league programme, League champions of Division 1, Dunluce, travelled to Second Kilrea hoping to start their campaign with a win. The home side had other ideas though and they overcame their opponents winning by eight shots. Brian McGrath (Second Kilrea) played Barry Kane (Dunluce) and in a tight game the home rink won by 9-6. Alastair Kirkpatrick levelled the match for Dunluce, when he beat Margaret Johnston (Second Kilrea) by nine shots.

Ivan Smyth (Second Kilrea) won another point for the hosts, beating Ian Kerr (Dunluce) 10-6. Nicky McCaw ensured the overall win for Second Kilrea with a 15-5 win against Uel McKeeman (Dunluce).

There was also a shock for last year’s runner-ups, Loughanreagh, as they succumbed to St. Mary’s at home. It all started so well for the home team with both the first half games going in their favour. Ian Ross (Loughanreagh) beat Declan McCann (St. Mary’s) 9-7 shots and Alan Irwin (Loughanreagh) overcame a determined David Gaile (St. Mary’s) by one shot. In the second half Jordon Mullan (St. Mary’s) and Alastair Steele (Loughanreagh) drew seven shots apiece and it was left to Harold Kelly (St. Mary’s) to get his side the overall win with a 13-9 win against Edwin Irwin (Loughanreagh).

The Marian entertained Boveedy but it was a very one sided affair with all the home rinks winning easily. James Martin (Marian) beat Mary Graham (Boveedy) 20-11; Terrence McGarry (Marian) won 14-8 against Alan Catherwood (Boveedy). In the second half Brian McAlary and William McCaw, (both Marian) had big wins over Ashley McCahon and Doughie Morrow respectively.

Do not discount St. Colman’s, as possible contenders for this year’s League title. Playing at home they took on and comfortably defeated Ballinrees. Paul McCook got the home team up and running when he defeated Victor Millen (Ballinrees) 11-5. David Walker (St. Colman’s) added a second point winning by one shot against Uel Gordon (Ballinrees). Martin McAleese (St. Colman’s) had a hard struggle with Jonathon Calvin (Ballinrees) but went on to win 9-6. New signing Aaran Tennant (St. Colman’s) made it a full house with a good win against William Calvin (Ballinrees).