Clann Eireann riders impressive across cup

CLANN Eireann cyclists have opened the campaign with impressive results.

Clann Eireann under 12s before the Aghagallon Cup.INLM15-139

The Aghagallon Cup - promoted by Lurgan-based Bartin’s Bay on Sunday - featured a number of riders from the club in fine form.

Clodagh Jo O’Neill came home second in the novice.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Declan Mulholland won the under 16s’ event by pushing clear of the bunch on the opening lap. It marked the latest boost for the promising teenager following his selection for the Youth Olympic time trial panel in Roscommon.

The under 14s’ class, included a bunch sprint which left Liam Wilson and Ethan Flaville from the Clann Eireann club home as, respectively, second and third.

Flaville was a recent winner of the Loup-promoted event staged by East Tyrone, with Wilson second overall. In Dublin, across Easter, Flaville clocked up another second place, followed in fourth by Wilson.

The closing youth section in the Aghagallon Cup provided success for Aaron Heaney across the under 12s’ group off the back of second in Dublin.

Promising players also arrived from Peadar Quinn, Joseph Lavelle, Ruairi Grimes, James Mulholland, Erin O’Neill, Callum Forker, Teelan Cahoon and Andrew Mulholland.

The A4 men’s event was won by Jude Sands from Newry Wheelers, with Hayley Priestly (Lantern Rouge) top of the ladies’ class.

Matt Heaney, a Clann Eireann rider in the A3 category, recently picked up victory in Sekskinore.

Clann Eireann members helped to serve as race marshals on the day.