Carrick edge past rivals Templepatrick

Carrickfergus Cricket Club had a narrow three-wicket victory over Templepatrick in a low-scoring game at The Cloughan on Saturday.


With Friday’s rain taking its toll, Carrick captain Iain Parkhill won the toss and asked the home team to bat first.

However, after losing an early wicket, some wayward Carrick bowling allowedTemplepatrick to get off to a flying start with the 50 coming up in the 12th over and Bob Homani and James Jackson looking comfortable.

Matthew Kernohan and Ryan Eagleson put the brakes on the scoring rate and this led to the key wicket of Homani, caught at cover off Kernohan for 31.

Carrick continued to make in-roads and Templepatrick struggled to 79 for 5 after 25 overs. With the introduction of Indrajeet Kamtekar, run-scoring virtually ground to a halt, and it was not until the 40th over that TCC passed the hundred-mark for the loss of seven wickets.

The last three wickets fell in the space of two overs, leaving the home side all-out for 108 in 41.2 overs.

Kerhohan finished with three wickets, with Eagleson and Kamtekar picking up two apiece. Hood and Holmes took a wicket each.

In reply, Carrick’s batsmen found the going no easier and struggled to 46 for 3 when Parkhill was out for 20 runs in the 21st over.

Carrick did not score a run for the next five overs as spinners Homani and Chris Busby took full advantage of the helpful conditions. However, Kamtekar and Eagleson grafted it out, putting away the occasional wayward delivery. At 67 for 3 off 32 overs, they had seen off Templepatrick’s spinners. Runs began to come more freely, but with the score on 84, Eagleson was dismissed lbw for 25.

Kamtekar, with support from Jack Burton, took the score to 99, before he was caught in the deep for 25. Carrick then lost two further wickets before Hood and Gordon Browne saw them over the line in the 47th over.

n Templepatrick 108 (B Homani 31, M Kernohan 3-22, R Eagleson 2-17, I Kamtekar 2-20)

n Carrick 109/7 (R Eagleson 25, I Kamtekar 24, I Parkhill 20, R Davies 2-6, J Fettis 2-26)

Carrickfergus won by 7 wickets