Diamond Bar claim Pictorium Cup glory

Four pieces of silverware were decided in Friday night’s action in the Ballymena, Harryville & District darts League.


The Coach Bar played host to the conclusion of the Pictorium, Loyalist and respective Duffers Cups in a bumper night of oche action.

The stand-out game was The Diamond’s narrow victory over Greenhills in the Pictorium Cup final.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Best Individuals this week were 15-dart legs from Paddy Coyles, Geoff Wylie, followed by 16s Ashley Rainey, Paddy Coyles, John Elder (Drifters), Jeff Watt x2, 17 Chris Greer, 18s Leonard McKeegan (Snr), Ryan Gault x2, Bobby Carson, 19s John Robinson, John Elder (Drifters), Jeff Watt x2, Daniel McDonald x2, 20s Denis Gault, Ashley Rainey, Chris Greer, Glenn Gilmour, 21 Leonard McKeegan (Snr), Neil Marshall, John Elder (Spinning Mill).

Gabriel Kerr (Greenhills) had the best finish with a 143 checkout, followed by: 130 John Balmer (Snr) (Wanderers), 125 Bobby Carson (Michelin), 111 Ryan Gault (The Diamond) and 94 Clifford Marcus (Michelin)

Jarlath McGarry, Paddy Coyles (both Greenhills), Ryan Gault (The Diamond), Daniel Thompson (Fountain Arrows) and Davy Logan (Wanderers) all hit 180s.

Results from the finals were:


Greenhills 4, The Diamond 5: Diamond had started stronger, with wins from John Robinson (2-1), Denis Gault (2-1), Davy Martin (2-0) and Ryan Gault (2-0) to take a 4-1 lead. Greenhills powered back to tie the game at 4-4 thanks to Paddy Coyles (2-1), Gabe Kerr (2-0), Leonard McKeegan (Jnr) (2-0) and Leonard McKeegan (Snr) (2-1). With the decider tied at 1-1, and both players needing 40 to win, Derek Rainey claimed the trophy for The Diamond with his third dart. Star player - Derek Rainey.


Cosy Corner 0, Drifters 5: Drifters overpowered Cosy Corner without dropping a leg. Well done Darnell McCrory (2-0), Noel Craig (2-0), David McFall (2-0), John Elder (2-0) and Geoff Wylie (2-0). Star player - Geoff Wylie.


Fountain Arrows 1, Spinning Mill 5: Spinning Mill showed why they sit comfortably at the top of Division 2; with 2 resounding victories over first division opposition. Well done Davy McFall (2-0) with Fountain’s win. Spinning Mill winners were Jeff Watt (2-0), Chris Greer (2-1), Daniel McDonald (2-0), John Elder (2-0) and Evan Greer (2-0). Star player - Jeff Watt.


Wanderers 5, Staffers 0: An extremely good win for Wanderers over top flight opposition, claiming the club’s first trophy. Winners were Willy Wright (2-0), Derek Connor (2-1), John Balmer (Snr) (2-0), Davy Logan (2-1) and Ben Gilmore (2-0). Star player - Ben Gilmore.