'Ferry' good performance from second-placed Ryan

AHOGHILL'S Ryan Connor finished second overall in last weekend's Portaferry three day stage race which was promoted by Ards cycling club, while Ballymena Road Club–Scott Roof Tiles riders Philip Bremner and Matthew Brennan also gave a good account of themselves and finished 10th and 16th overall respectively.

Bremner scored well too in the point’s race where a fifth and sixth place on two stages helped him to fourth overall in this category.

The opening stage on Friday night on the Kirkistown motor sport circuit was won by Thomas Martin (Eurocycles) by 1 second from Ryan Connor with Adam Armstrong (Eurocycles) third at 29 seconds.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Ballymena road club – Scott Roof Tiles – riders Philip Bremner and Matthew Brennan, who was riding for Cycling Ulster, finished with a group of 22 riders, who were contesting 12th place, some 2 minutes 46 seconds behind.

This was to set the pattern for the rest of the race as the first three on the opening stage were to go on and finish first, second and third overall.


Last week’s Ballymena Road Club–Scott Roof Tiles club race was a 15 miles Australian pursuit event at Ahoghill.

The handicappers did their job well with the outcome of the event only decided in the final half mile.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Early starters Maeve Savage and father and son Maurice and Steven Carruthers were still well clear as they turned left at Whitesides corner for the final three miles to the Ahoghill finish. Dermot Hughes and Martin Ruddy were next on the road while the “scratch” group still had a lot of work to do to get back on terms.

Matthew Brennan attacked on the short climb up from the Glebe hall but he was caught before the finish. In fact just as Hughes and Ruddy caught the leaders they too were reeled in by the scratch riders. Tommy Wilson then had a go but Sean Wright came past to take the win.

Steven Workman took a close second after being at the front of the pursuit in the closing miles and this was more than enough to secure the overall win in the three race “mini league”. Matthew Brennan held on to take third place on the night and second overall.

Other positions were: (4) Tommy Wilson (5) Martin Ruddy (6) Steven Carruthers (7) Maurice Carruthers all same time. (8) Maeve Savage (9) Dermot Hughes at 18 seconds (10) Mark McCullough (11) Millar Montgomery at 2.26 (12) Ryan Currie at 2.56 (13) Nigel Kernohan at 4.23 (14) Beresford Millar at 6.06

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Youth result Ahoghill, Tully, Largy road to Carnearny road, five miles road race. (1) Marc Moody 22 minutes 46 seconds (2) Josh Barr 23.41 (3) Adam Kerr 23.53

Steven Workman won the mini series for the second year in a row having amassed a total of 24 points. Matthew Brennan finished second with 22 points while Sean Wright who also won the round at Slaght was third with 20 points. (4) Mark McCullough 11 points (5) Philip Bremner (winner of the Broughshane - Sheddings round) 10 points (6) Maurice Carruthers 9 points

(7) Colin Scullion 8 points. Equal (8) (9) (10) Tommy Wilson, Ryan Currie and Alan Blair 7 points each. A total of 22 riders scored at least one point.

Steven Workman won the recent Bann Valley 10 miles time trial on the Kilrea road with a time of 22 minutes 21 seconds. Jim Burns clocked 24.25 while BRC youth rider Adam Kerr recorded a very respectable 27.04.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Ballymena Road Club touring section cyclists successfully completed their annual “Nine Glens challenge” on Sunday.

At one point shortly after the start at Glenarm there were upwards on 40 cyclists in the group but not everyone had set out with the intention of completing the full course and were joining in merely to lend support to the Chernobyl children’s appeal charity and to encourage the other riders.

There presence was appreciated by the 17 riders who successfully completed the full 70 miles distance, which included 25 miles of climbing. Well done to all the participants. The charity collection has raised 155 so far. Anyone who took part on Sunday and who wishes to contribute should contact Richard Wilson.

Many thanks to Marian McQuillan and her daughter Brenda for their excellent catering and back up support and also to the Silver cliffs holiday park in Ballycastle who kindly provided free use of their showers and changing facilities.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

This week’s Ballymena Road Club–Scott Roof Tiles club race takes place tonight Tuesday 27th July on the Mid Antrim 150 motor cycle course at Clough where both seniors and youth riders will be in action from 7pm.

This is a very tough 3.6 miles circuit and the climb into the village will take its toll each of the eight times around, hopefully the handicappers will take this into account when making out the starting order and time gaps.

This race is the fifth round of the club’s seven race road racing league series which is currently being led by Matthew Brennan who has 25 points. David Dougan is second on 23 and Mark McCullough third with 22. (4) Sean Wright 17 (5) Alan Blair 15 (6) Sam Davidson 14 points.

A rider’s best score from six of the seven rounds will count for the overall league.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The marshalls for the Clough race are Louise Fullerton, Michael Thompson Hazel Hughes, Dermot Hughes, Jim Burns, Steven Lamont and John Kerr.

Wednesday 28th July. Carn wheelers will promote round three of the inter club road racing league series at Curran near Tobermore at 7pm.

Thursday 29th July 10 miles time trial league race at Woodgreen from 7pm.

Sunday 1st August. Ballymena Road Club will hold their annual ride to Carnfunnock this Sunday starting from Rex Bonar house at 9.30am.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

This event will mark the tenth anniversary of the passing of touring committee member Martin McKernan who died in a road traffic accident at the Larne road roundabout on 2nd August 2000.


Next week will see BRC riders take part in the second edition of their “three day” race for the Ballymena Borough Council trophy.

Stage one on Tuesday 3rd August is the Sherdan Caldwell memorial hill climb at Crebilly. On Wednesday night it’s a five miles time trial from Woodgreen to Ballee roundabout and back. The event is rounded off with Thursday night’s Sammy Gaston cup 25 miles road race over five laps of the Dunminning circuit starting in Glarryford. (The Gaston cup race will also be round six of the road racing league series) All races have a 7pm starting time with the youth section also in action on the Tuesday and Thursday nights at the same location as the seniors.

The top twenty riders on each stage will be awarded points towards the overall classification. Last year Conor McAllister took the overall honours having won the time trial and road race stages with his brother Leo winning the hill climb.

Related topics: