Fianna win at the shore

Derrylaughan 1-9

Brendan Quinn claims the high ball for Derrylaughan over Stephen McNally. INTT2013-700DCA

Coalisland 3-14

Coalisland continued their impressive unbeaten start to the All County League with a comprehensive victory over Derrylaughan at the Washingbay on Sunday evening.

A healthy crowd braved what were at times wet and windy conditions to witness the clash of the leagues bottom side on one of this year’s league favourites.

The game was competitive for most of the first half before a Fianna goal from county star Patrick McNeice gave the blues a healthy four point lead at the interval.

Coalisland overwhelmed the Barrys in the second period with their pace and powerful running, and two second half goals but the result of the encounter beyond any doubt.

Derrylaughan’s start to the season has been hindered by the absence of a number of their more established names due to injury and emigration, Ciaran Quinn, Fergal McAliskey, Liam and Ciaran Gervin all missing from their forward line and regular full back Malachy Quinn having emigrated.

Coalisland got of to the fastest start running into a four point to one lead. County minor Stephen McGrath had opened the scoring for the Barrys but Patrick McNeice was putting on an exhibition at the other end defying the elements to give his side the lead with some excellent scores.

McNeice was ably assisted by Eoghan Carberry as the Fianna swept forward into a strong wind.

Derrylaughan to their credit got themselves back into the game though with Ciaran Gervin introduction sparking a quick scoring burst.

Shea Coney grabbed a score from distance before Gervin got himself on the scoreboard within seconds of his introduction. Gerard McAliskey then pointed to level the game after 15 minutes.

Coalisland responded well though and two Brian Toner points, one from play and the other from a free re-established the blues lead.

Gervin responded immediately but Coalisland hit back just before the break as McNeice scored the games decisive goal.

A Philip Toner shot was underhit but it found the county man as he ran towards goal and McNeice made no mistake firing past James Kennedy who had earlier made two excellent saves.

Another McNeice free made the lead 5 before Gerard McAliskey got his second point of the game.

Derrylaughan reduced the gap again to three as a superb Martin McStravog effort somehow found its way over into the breeze.

The response from the Damian O’Hagan managed team was immediate though as Eoghan Carberry, Niall Fox and Jason Carberry all pointed from play to make the lead six point with 20 minutes remaining.

Derrylaughan certainly weren’t strangled of possession by any means but their attacks were coming unstuck in the Coalisland defence as the Fianna used the pace of their half forwards and midfield to launch numerous counter attacks.

Derrylaughan lost substitute Ciaran Gervin soon afterwards as Brendan Quinn set up Stephen McGrath for his second point.

That was to be the last Derrylaughan score for 15 minutes as the Fianna rattled of 2-4 without reply.

The direct running of Niall Fox and Eoghan Carberry had caused the Barrys countless problems, while Patrick McNeice’s positioning at the edge of the square gave the Coalisland a potent threat.

They made use of this to deadly effect during this period as first McNeice pointed, before Stephen McNally fired to the Barrys net after a great team move.

Philip Toner, Eoghan Carberry and goalkeeper Jonny Curran all pointed, Curran’s effort coming from a sweetly struck 45 as the Fianna moved into cruise control.

Niall Fox and McNeice linked up brilliantly to allow Fox to goal and bring Coalisland’s total to 3-14 on the night.

Derrylaughan did his back late as Gerard McAliskey and a brilliantly finished Stephen McGrath goal put a fairer reflection on the scoreline.

The Barrys will be looking to next weekends encounter with Cookstown knowing that a win is almost essential if they are to maintain contact at the bottom of the league while Coalisland head to face Killyclogher.

Derrylaughan: James Kennedy, Mark Robinson, Cathal Cushnahan, Colm O’Hagan, Conor Kennedy, Sean Robinson, Dominic Taggart, Seamus Carron, Shea Coney, Gabrial Coary, Cathal McCabe, Martin McStravog, Stephen McGrath, Gerard McAliskey, Niall O’Hagan. Subs: Ciaran Gervin for Coary, Brendan Quinn for O’Hagan, Ciaran O’Hagan for Gervin

Scorers: Stephen McGrath 1-2, Gerard McAliskey 0-3, Ciaran Gervin 0-2, Martin McStravog 0-1, Shea Coney 0-1

Coalisland: Jonny Curran, Conor Bayne, Louis O’Neill, Martin Hughes, Jason Carberry, Niall Kerr, Patrick O’Farrell, Philip Toner, Brian Toner, Eoghan Carberry, Tiarnan O’Hagan, Niall Fox, Stephen McNally, Patrick McNeice, Gerard Toner Subs: Joe Herron for Hughes, Jarlath McIlvanna for Bayne

Scorers: Patrick McNeice 1-4, Niall Fox 1-1, Stephen McNally 1-0, Eoghan Carberry 0-4, Brian Toner 0-2, Philip Toner 0-1, Jonny Curran 0-1, Jason Carberry 0-1

Referee: Sean Hurson- Galbally