Foiled in bid for treble

LURGAN Tigers under 11s just failed in their bid to complete a treble season on Tuesday.

They were foiled by North West side Bready who won the All-Ireland final at Pollock Park.

Lurgan captain Jonny Hunter won the toss and elected to bat. The opening pair of Hunter and Gibson began the innings slowly and reached 28 for no loss.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Bready made the first breakthrough in the 17th over bowling Callum Gibson for 21 with the Tigers score on 47.

Although the Tigers had wickets in hand they just couldn’t accelerate the run rate. Jack Maxwell was caught behind for two as he came down the track to the left arm spinner McCorkill. Scott Wilson did offer some resistance with 10 before he was brilliantly caught in the covers.

Jonny Hunter was caught off the bowling of Doherty soon after and it was left to Suzie McCollum and Michael Campbell to finish the innings on 72 for five from their 25 overs.

Although this was a fairly modest total but the Lurgan team were determined to have a real go at defending it.

With the Bready score on 12 skipper Jonny Hunter got a breakthrough by clean bowling Crumbley for six. Jonny struck again and when Callum Gibson removed the other opener Bready were 22 for three after eight overs.

The next Bready pair settled in and Lurgan did put down a couple of difficult chances.

The batsmen made the most of their good fortune and they saw their side home to a seven wicket victory.

Although the Tigers didn’t quite get the result they wanted the players will have learned a tremendous amount from this match.

Credit must go to the Bready side who bowled so well in the first innings and on the day they were deserved winners.

Lurgan can be delighted with their progress this season and winning the Quoile Cup and Under 11 league was a fantastic achievement.

Team: Jonny Hunter Capt, Callum Gibson, Jack Maxwell, Scott Wilson, Neil Allen, Suzie McCollum, Michael Campbell, Ethan Currie, Mark Hutchinson, Victor Mackenzie, Ben Hunter, Qasam Mohammed.