Dunclug wrap up Division Three crown

DUNCLUG PTA wrapped up the Division Three title with a comfortable win at basement side First Ballymena.

Surprisingly, the church side were three shots up at the break, thanks to David McQuitty’s 14-6 win over David Calderwood, while Noel Clarke ‘pointed’ for Dunclug.

The leaders proved too strong in the second half, however, with wins from Alan Heron and Robert Neeson against Lyle McQuitty and Jean Mullan wrapping up the championship.

St Mary’s title challenge faltered in the closing weeks but they finished off their campaign with a win against First Ballymena, in a game brought forward from this week.

Kieran Adams and Patsy Boyd put Mary’s in a commanding position at the tea break with wins over R Hayes and Jean Mullan.

But Lyle McQuitty’s impressive 20-7 win over Sean McGarry and an 8-8 tie between Charlie Graham and Roland Woods tied the scores at 41 apiece, although the Portglenone side claimed the lion’s share of the points.

Round Tower’s strong finish to the season continued when they took four points from their trip to West Church ‘B’.

It was too close to call at half-time with both sides having put a point on the board through Kevin McLarnon for Round Tower and David Aicken for ‘West’.

The second half was a different story, though, as the Antrim side coasted to victory through Michael Teer and John O’Neill, against Victor Mahon and Fred Johnston.

All Saints’ good recent run of home form came to a crashing halt as they lost at home to Services ‘B’.

Jock McKay earned Saints’ lone point with a narrow win over Sheila Smith, but a ‘4’ on the last end for Eric Smyth earned him an 11-7 win over Eugene Walsh.

Services moved up the gears in the second half with clear-cut wins for Roy Dickson and Greta Coulter against Eugene McReynolds and Paddy Martin.