Glass Cup 'First' for Ahoghill

FIRST Ahoghill won the Glass Charity Cup for the first time last week.

The village side ended a recent spell of domination by DIstrict League sides - Killymurris Glarryford were the last Churches League outfit to lift the trophy in 2002 - with a 12-shot win over Michelin in the final at West Church.

The decider was played over the usual format of all four rinks competing over seven ends, before facing different opposition over another seven ends after the interval.

In the first half, it was Ahoghill who were in command as Andrew Morrison's four got the better of Wes Caldwell by eight shots to four.

On mat two William Morrison's four were also on top in their game with Matthew Boyd, winning 9–4.

Mat three saw David Morrison's four in charge with a 6–2 win over Grant Robinson's four

Mat four saw Graham Maybin's four complete a clean sweep for the villagers with a 7–5 defeat of Chris Wilson, as Ahoghill took a 15-shot advantage into the post-teabreak battle.

In the second half the fortunes changed slightly as on mat one Chris Wilson's rink came out on top in their tussle with William Morrison, edging home 9-8.

Wes Caldwell reduced Michelin's deficit further as he led his rink to a 10–4 win over David Morrison.

But Graham Maybin's rink kept Ahoghill comfortably in front with an 8–5 win over Matthew Boyd's four.

And Andrew Morrison's rink limited Grant Robinson to a single shot (8–7) win to ensure the village side took home the trophy with a well deserved 58-46 win.

At the end of the evening a cheque for 1300 was presented to Mrs Betty Millar, representing Ulster Cancer Foundation.