Good display against top team

Linfield 4 Lurgan Town 0

LURGAN Town under 12’s travelled to Belfast on Saturday for their toughest challenge of the season so far, a third round NIBFA cup tie against National League side Linfield.

Lurgan matched their opponents for the first 15 minutes, playing a high pressing game and enjoying good possession of the ball. The away team couldn’t make this count however and the deadlock was broken in the 18th minute when Linfield scored past Lurgan keeper Jack Greenlee.

Two minutes later it was 2-0 to Linfield but Lurgan continued to press their opponents without finding a way through a very solid midfield and well-organised defence. Three minutes before half time Linfield scored another to cement a good first half for the home team.

Lurgan started the second half in a very positive manner but were caught on the break in the 40th minute when one of the home team’s strikers cut in from the left and shot through a ruck of players in the box to find the back of the net.

Lurgan introduced subs Ryan Irvine, Declan Lavery, Alex Woods and Thomas Tallon to replace Nicholas Brownlee, Odhran McMullan, Ross Ewing and Ruari Conlon to freshen up their options.

Lurgan midfielders Jordan Dawson, Ewan Buchanan, Alex Woods, Daire Furphy and Declan Lavery continued to work extremely hard to create chances linking up with forward Ryan Irvine.

Lurgan fought hard in all areas of the pitch with defenders Sam Gibbons, Simon Wilson, Thomas Tallon and Adam Leathem containing any further Linfield attacks.

On the few occasions that Linfield did manage to break through, keeper Jack Greenlee proved equal to the task. The match ended in a 4–0 victory for Linfield, however every Lurgan player

should be very proud of their tireless display of commitment, desire and never-say-die attitude against a highly rated side.

Lurgan Town Under 12’s: Jack Greenlee, Adam Leathem, Simon Wilson, Sam Gibbons, Ross Ewing, Ruairi Conlan, Jordan Dawson, Daire Furphy, Ewan Buchanan, Odhran McMullan, Nicholas Brownlee Subs: Ryan Irvine, Alex Woods, Declan Lavery, Thomas Tallon.