SLIDESHOW: Northend United Youth FC enjoy presentation nights

In a fitting end to the season, Northend United Youth FC brought their current season to a close this week with their well attended Junior and Senior Awards Nights, held at the Michelin Club on Wednesday and Thursday nights.

Northend United U-15 boys and coaches ready for the awards event at the Michelin Athletic Club. INBT 23-827H

Well in excess of 300 people attended these two events, in what has become the highlight of the Northend social calendar.

Guests of Honour this year were a number of Wakehurst FC officials, including Andy Erwin and Tommy Kerr

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Northend Chairperson, Johnny Sayers, welcomed the large crowd of parents, coaches and players on both nights in what has been Northend’s largest ever Awards Nights.

Northend United U-15 boys and coaches ready for the awards event at the Michelin Athletic Club. INBT 23-827H

He went on to give a brief summary of another successful year’s activities for Northend United Youth. Johnny made special mention to the recent partnership with Wakehurst FC and how a number of the current U17 players had already played for Wakehurst Strollers and three players: Jamie Speirs, Niall Swann and Aodhan Tolan had already made their first team appearances.

Andy Erwin, Wakehurst Strollers FC Manager and Committee Member, then gave a stirring speech to the crowd on how Wakehurst FC is looking forward to a long a fruitful partnership with Northend United Youth.

Andy went on to explain that Wakehurst are targeting a place in Championship 1 in the next few years and need the local young players to come through the ranks to support this strategy. He mentioned how delighted he was with the flow of players from the current U17s who had progressed throughout the year to play for Wakehurst Star, Wakehurst Strollers and Wakehurst FC on a permanent basis, not just the occasional appearance.

Andy commented: “Wakehurst are a local Club with local players playing Irish League football and this will always be our strategy.”

Northend coaches Ally McGarry, John Devlin, Uel Magill, Davy Wylie, Desy Metrustry, Mark Lecky, Johnny Sayers, Mark Herbison and Glenn Speirs all gave an account of their team’s successes throughout the year.

In addition to all the normal awards, Northend’s Football Development Officer, John Devlin, presented three managers, Conor Connelly, Desy Metrustry and Glenn Speirs with retiring gifts and thanked them for all their support and commitment to the Club.

Prizes were awarded to the various age groups as follows:


Northend United: Most Improved - Callum Hendron; Best Newcomer - Sean McDermott; Clubman of the Year - Paddy Murphy; Top Goalscorer - Callum Hendron; Player of the Larne Sevens - Pearse McAuley; Players’ Player of the Year - Pearse McAuley; Player of the Year - Pearse McAuley.

Northend Youth: Most Improved - Conan McKeown; Best Newcomer - Daire Higgins, Euan Pirie; Clubman of the Year - Kevin McAllister; Top Goalscorer - Daniel Patterson; Players’ Player of the Year - Sean McDermott; Player of the Year - Lewis Devlin.


Most Improved - Ben O’Neill, Zack Erwin; Best Newcomer - Charlie McGarry; Clubman of the Year - Ben O’Neill; Top Goalscorer - Jay McKeown; Players’ Player of the Year - Stevie Bristow; Player of the Year - Stevie Bristow.


Northend United: Most Improved - Owen Campbell, David Magill; Best Newcomer - Niall Devine, Ben O’Neill; Clubman of the Year - Jack Adams; Top Goalscorer - Peter Bristow; Player of the Larne Sevens - Corey McMillan; Players’ Player of the Year - Kevin Cosgrove; Player of the Year - Peter Bristow.

Northend Youth: Most Improved - Lewis Hector, Keelan Campbell; Best Newcomer - Conor McKillop, Sam Crawford; Clubman of the Year - Ben Harkin; Top Goalscorers - Jay McKeown, Liam Allen; Players’ Player of the Year - Ciaran Martin; Player of the Year - Curtis Wilson, Ciaran Martin.


Most Improved - Callum Higgins; Best Newcomer - Ryan McQuillan; Clubman of the Year - Callum Kilgore; Top Goalscorer - Pat Ferris; Players’ Player of the Year - Pat Ferris; Player of the Year - Harry Wylie.


Most Improved - Callum Forsythe; Best Newcomer - Conor McDonald; Clubman of the Year - Conall Killough; Top Goalscorer - Matthew Stewart; Players’ Player of the Year - Jay Kirkpatrick; Player of the Year U12 – Jay Kirkpatrick.


Most improved - Stuart Lecky, Conall Gordon; Best Newcomer - Tom Patchett, John Brady, Sam Frew; Clubman of the Year - Conor McGarry, Matthew Willighan; Top Goalscorer - Ruairi Campbell; Players’ Player of the Year - Robert Iovu; Player of the Year - Robert McCluney.


Most Improved - Tyler Evans; Best Newcomer - Eoin McLaughlin; Clubman of Year - Matthew Kirk; Top Goalscorer - Graeme Macartney; Players’ Player of Year - Josh Mark; Player of Year - Josh Mark.


Most Improved - Lewis McFall; Best Newcomer - Sam Bennett; Clubman of Year - Caolan McLaughlin, Oliver Boyle; Top Goalscorer - Zack Herbison; Players’ Player of Year - Bradley Cairns; Player of Year - Robbie Dennison.


Most Improved - Thomas Brady; Best Newcomer - Aodhan Tolan, Kyle Jackson; Clubman of Year - James Cameron; Top Goalscorer - Stephen Hare; Players’ Player of Year - Niall Swann; Player of Year - Jamie Speirs; Merit Award – International Honours – Jonny Hanlon


Kathleen Gordon Memorial Shield – Kevin McAllister, Owen Campbell; Coach of the Year – Mark Lecky, Brian McCluney; Team of the Year – U12s.