Wakehurst win first of ‘double-header’ against Corner

Wakehurst boss Ian Gregg believes his side has already won the more important of the club’s double-header of matches against Chimney Corner.

Wakehurst FC.

But Wakehurst’s 2-0 Belfast Telegraph Championship Two win over their Antrim neighbours at the weekend doesn’t mean that Gregg will settle for second best when the sides meet again in the fourth round of the Irish Cup this Saturday!

“If you ask me, as a manager, which game I would choose to win out of the two, it would be picking up three points in the league.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“But now that we’ve done that, the challenge is to overcome the same opponents in a different competition and that is what we’ll aim to do.

“Chimney Corner have certainly improved this season - their results show that and they were certainly more organised on Saturday than on occasions when we’ve played them in recent seasons.

“Having said that, I felt we deserved to win the match. We know we can play better but we produced a solid performance,” added Gregg, who will assess the fitness of defender Chris Rodgers, who aggravted a heel injury in the weekend win.

Despite Wakehurst being drawn out of the hat first, this Saturday’s cup clash will be switched to Allen Park as Wakehurst’s landlords Moyola Park are also at home in the same competition,

At the weekend, Jason Paul had given Wakehurst the lead on 21 minutes, being in the right place at the right time to slot in a loose ball after keeper Harbinson could only push away Conor Gregg’s effort.

Wakehurst had a great opportunity to double their lead three minutes from the break when Harbinson, in rushing from his goal, collided with Jason Paul, conceding a penalty but Conor Gregg’s poorly-struck effort was easily saved.

However, a second Jason Paul goal on 75 minutes, after Paul Muir had forced Harbinson to push his header against the crossbar, sealed the points for the home team.

Wakehurst: M Cairns, G Dickey, P Muir, C Rogers, D Stevenson, M Crawford, G Young, C Gregg, J Paul, R Gregg, J Lemon. Subs: R Culbertson, A Laughlin, R Young, D Gage, G Gilmore.