Frankly, he's the best!

FRANKIE Brammeld is the new Inbev Town & Country League Individuals champion after an excellent night of pool at the Ballymena United Social club on Thursday night.

With a strong entry of 70 players contesting on the night, the tournament was played in the best of sporting spirit and was thoroughly enjoyed by all who attended the event.

The night started with a number of preliminary round matches Halfway club mates Darren Hamill & Seamus Rowan had an early exit with wins for Eamon Darragh and Terry Gillan, Frankie Brammeld got the night off to a good start with a comfortable win of James Atcheson respectively. Other matches of the round saw Jimmy Knowles, Paul Abram and Paul Bates also made their safe passage to the first round proper.

The first round then got underway with Randalstown Veterans clubmen Jason Beggs, Hans Kuijten and Frankie Brammeld all making it to the second round, there were also wins for Lurig men John McKillop who defeated Donal O'Boyle in a tight match and defending champion Declan Birt comfortably beat Brendan Byrne.

Other Lurig winners included Micheal Birt who defeated Barry Hamill 2-1 and Brendan Birt who defeated Seamus Scullion in a similar score line.

Paddy Mc Ateer however was the one surprise name who didn't make it to the second round with Black Bull's Nigel Percy defeating McAteer in the third frame.

Glencloy Inn also had plenty of representatives in the second round Michael Abram, Connor McCollum, Paul Abram, Paul Bates and Peter Morgan getting by the first hurdle.

McAuleys saw David Magill, Ryan Mitchell, John McAllister and Sean Davison all make the second round.

The second round saw Paul Bates continue his good form with a good win over Ryan Mitchell, the round also saw the meeting of David Magill and John McAllister with Magill holding his nerve to easily see off his club mate and opponent.

Birts Declan, Brendan and Michael all made it safely to the next round all with 2-0 wins over their opponents, other names to make the last 16 included Michael Abram, Tam Hamill, Frankie Brammeld, Hans Kuijten and Barry McLarnon to set up some interesting ties for the next round.

The third round (last 16) saw young Greenhills cue man Eamon Darragh have a great game to beat Thomas Crawly to be the fist man to reach the quarter finals.

Michael Abram and Sean Davidson were then to follow with wins against Terry Gillan and Barry McLarnon respectively. Hans Kuijen and Frankie Brammeld then secured wins to set up a quarter final match between the two, Kuijten seeing off a good fight from Raymond Mark and Brammeld defeating Brendan Birt. The match of the round however was the game between Declan Birt and David Magill, were Magill put in a superb display to knock the reigning champion out. Paul Bates also had an easy win over Michael Birt to make the next round.

Getting to the business end of the tournament the quarter final paired up a number of interesting ties none more so than the meeting of Hans Kuijten and Frankie Brammeld. Brammeld however never looked in doubt in this game and seen off his opponent in a 3-1 score line.

Michal Abram then secured a Semi Final match against Brammeld with a similar 3-1 win over Eamon Darragh. In the final two quarter final ties John McKillop was unable to stop Sean Davison, Davison running out a 3-1 winner, and Paul Bates gave an exhibition in potting to see of the challenge of David Magill.

Getting to the semi final stage it really was anyone’s guess who would take away the prize and both matches looked tight to call. Sean Davidson was in the end a comfortable winner over Paul Bates. The second semi final and what was easily the game of the night young Glencloy man Michael Abram put up a strong fight against Frankie Brammeld however the Randalstown man had the edge over his opponent and in a game that went all the way Brammeld booked his place in the final against Sean Davison.

The final in fairness ended up a rather one sided affair with Frankie Brammeld showing great nerve to see out the game and run away an eventual 3-0 winner and be crowned individuals champion for 2010.

Preliminary round: S Rowan 1, E Darragh 2; T Gillan 2, D Hamill 1; F Brammeld 2, J Atcheson 0; E McAuley 0, P Abram 2; P Duffin 1, J Knowles 2; L Cooper 1, P Bates 2.

Round one: E Darragh 2, J Abram 1;JP Kane 1, J Beggs 2; G Montgomery 1, T Crawley 2; M J O’Boyle 1, B Fleck 2; M Abram 2, MJ McCourt 0; J Mellon 2, H McNally 0; P Scullion 0, D Keenan 2; P Bloomer 0, T Gillan 2; A Abram 2, G Shannon 1; R Mark 2, C Reid 1; N Hamill 0, H Kuijten 2; J Mullholland 0, C McCollum 2; P McAteer 1, N Percy 2; S Scullion 1, B Birt 2;D Mc Neill 1, S Sheerin 2; D Black 0, F Brammeld 2; P Abram 2, C McNeill 0; J McKillop 2, D O’Boyle 1; T Hamill 2, W Magill 1; J Glennon 0, P Morgan 2; C Reid 2 M Crawley 1; B Mc Larnon 2, R Campbell 1; S Davidson 2, B Feeney 0; J Fox 2, J Knowles 1; J McAuley 0, J McAllister 2; D Magill 2, W Wilson 0; B Byrne 0, D Birt 2; J Larkin 2, B Cully 0; B Hamill 1, M Birt 2; J Liddie 0, J Donnell 2; R Mitchell 2, L McClelland 1; K Little 0, P Bates 2;

Round two: E Darragh 2, J Beggs 1; T Crawley 2, B Fleck 0; M Abram 2, J Mellon 0; D Keenan 0, T Gillan 2; A Abram 0, R Mark 2; Hans Kuijten 2, C McCollum 0; N Percy 0, B Birt 2; S Sheerin 1, F Brammeld 2; P Abram 1, J McKillop 2; T Hamill 2, P Morgan 1; C Reid 0, B McLarnon 2; S Davidson 2, J Fox 0; J McAllister 0, D Magill 2; D Birt 2, J Larkin 0; M Birt 2, J Donnell 0; R Mitchell 1, P Bates 2.

Round three: E Darragh 2, T Crawley 1; M Abram 2, T Gillan 1; R Mark 1, H Kuijten 2; B Birt 0, F Brameld 2; J McKillop 2, T Hamill 1; B Mc Larnon 0, Sean Davidson 2; D Birt 0, D Magill 2; M Birt 0, P Bates 2.

Quarter-finals: E Darragh 1, M Abram 3; Hans Kuijten 1, F Brammeld 3; J Mc Killop 1, S Davidson 3; D Magill 1, Paul Bates 3.

Semi-finals: Brammeld 3, Abram 2; Davidson 3, Bates 1.

Final: Frankie Brammeld 3, Sean Davidson 0.


This week sees the league's annual doubles competition take place, at the Ballymena United Social Club this Thursday (28th).

All players are reminded that the draw will take place at 8pm sharp and those not present at that this time will not be entered into the draw.