Trevor wins the Hanna Rose Bowl at Lisburn Golf Club

Three competitors Trevor Doak (22), Nigel McCartney (19) and Thomas Ferguson (20) tied at the top of the leader board with 42 points in the Hanna Rose Bowl competition at Lisburn last Saturday.

Richard Allen, Neil Thompson, Davis Heaney and Norman Lambe about to tee off at Lisburn.

Trevor started with a ‘ding’ but pars at three and four followed by a birdie at eight helped him score 21 points on the front nine.

Nigel also scored 21 points on the front nine finishing with a birdie four at the 8th followed by a par at the 9th. Thomas had three pars on his way to 22 points. His back nine of 20 points left him in third place.

Nigel got off to a great start on the back nine with pars at 11 and 12 while Trevor took a double bogey seven at the 12th. The last two holes decided the outcome. Trevor finished six, three while Nigel failed to score at 17 and took four at the 18th to lose out on count back.

Alan Gilmore, Gary Gilpin and Mark McNellis all finished with 40 points. Norman McNellis won the best gross prize with a round of 77.

Lisburn members were delighted to see Mervyn Law back playing at Lisburn after becoming ill in Wellington New Zealand. His recovery will take time but he has already played nine holes.

Loughgall visited Lisburn in the Junior Cowdy Cup competition but failed to record a victory. Lisburn’s Sam McAllister& Derek Gallagher and Trevor Doak & Chris Warwick recorded big victories while Alan Gilmore & Philip Stewart and Michael Rooney & Martin McDonald won their matches on the 17th green.

The Sam Rutherford team played their away leg at Edenmore and finished six holes down.

Lisburn face a ‘double header’ against Ballycastle, The Ulster Fourball team travels to the north coast in a fortnight with the return leg the following week. The Jimmy Bruen teams meet at Ballymena. Junior Cup team captain David Bolas was disappointed with the performance of his players who failed to qualify at Balmoral.

Wednesday Stableford: 1st Connor Watson 42pts, 2nd Colin Reid 40pts, 3rd David McCallister 39pts. Seniors Open: 1st Robert Patterson (20) 39pts, 2nd John Lowdon (Bangor)(13) 35pts, 3rd David Graham (16) 35pts.