Madden is fastest Veteran Cyclist Once Again

LOCAL cycling Irish record holder and Ulster Champion John Madden (Curran Racing/Bann Wheelers) was the fastest veteran (aged 40+) rider at the Dave Kane Cycles Time Trial on Thursday and then he won the Veterans prize at the Magigan GP road race at the weekend to complete yet another successful week for this cycling legend.

Double Olympian David McCann (Giant Kenda) was the fastest in the latest round of the Dave Kane Cycles Time Trial League on the Glenshane course on Thursday but Madden was the only rider close to his time despite Madden being over 40 years of age and an amateur cyclist.

Professional rider McCann was the only rider to break 20 minutes with a time of 19:52. Madden took first veteran and incredibly second over all with a time of 20:58 with Ards junior Daniel Stewart netting third spot with a time of 21:40. Madden is a former winner of the prestigious Dave Kane League and is proving he still has what it takes to mix it with the best in the sport.

At the weekend Simon Williams (Team Basso-Todays Cyclist) added to his season tally of victories on Saturday when he won the ‘A’ race at the Madigan Grand Prix. Madden took the first veteran prize at the grueling 3 lap event around Carrickfergus and Gleno village. Madden was aggressive all day together with his Curran team mates which paid off when two of them finished second and third just in front of the fast finishing Madden in the leading bunch.

“I am really pleased with the way my time trialling form is coming on towards the end of the season with Ulster and Irish championships up for grabs in September. The road racing is something I do for fun because I enjoy the social side of the sport so I was surprised to win the veterans prize and delighted to see my two team mates take second and third” said Madden after his very successful week. Madden will next be in action in a local Bann Wheelers event on Tuesday and then perhaps another Dave Kane race on Thursday all of which is part of his programme to prepare for hopefully time trial success at the end of the season. Dave Kane Time Trial League Glenshane 10 Results - 04/08/11 1. David McCann (Giant Kenda) 19.52 2. John Madden (Curran) 20:58 3. Daniel Stewart (Ards) 21:40 4. Simon Stockton (Team Madigan) 21:55 5. Jim McConnelly (East Antrim-Audi) 22:10 6. Martin Tohill (Spires) 22:16 7. Paul Swenarton (North Down) 22:27 8. David Heagney (East Tyrone) 22:30 9. Stephen McWilliams (Phoenix CC) 22:51 10. Bryan McKinney (Ballymoney CC) 22:57 Madigan Grand Prix Results - 06/08/11 ‘A’ Race 1. Simon Williams (Team Basso-Todays Cyclist) 2. Liam Curran (Curran Racing) 3. James McMaster (Curran Racing)