Record breaking Jude Gallagher Memorial ‘Round the Bridges’ race

Springwell Running Club hosted the annual Jude Gallagher Memorial ‘Round the Bridges’ 10 Mile Road Race on Thursday evening.

Columb Knowles (Race Director), Springwell Ladies team Karen McLaughlin, Linda Gillen, Pamela McGlade (missing Nicola Frizelle) receive their prize fro Councillor Jack Rankin Deputy Mayor of Limavady. INBM27-14

Well over 400 runners lined up in near perfect conditions for the ten mile race. The Limavady course is regarded by many as the fastest 10 mile in the north.

The spectators weren’t disappointed as two new course records and loads of PBs were recorded.

Belfast City Marathon winner Freddy Sittuk continued his impressive run of results with another notable victory; from the gun, the Kenyan athlete, who won the Lisburn Half Marathon, last week, looked strong and composed as he sat on the heels Scott Rankin (Foyle Valley AC) until the seven mile marker.  

Despite Scott’s valiant effort, Freddy moved clear in the closing stages to secure victory in a new course record of 50:53.  Last year’s winner, Scott, followed in a, well-deserved personal best of 51:47, before Adrian McGowan (Foyle Valley AC) also clocked a new personal best, 55:18 for third place.

Not to be out done by her male counterpart, Natasha Adams (Lifford AC) was also in record breaking form. The Strabane based athlete crossed the line in an excellent 58:06, a new ladies course record. Cathy McCourt (North Belfast) followed in 1:03:58, while the ever consistent Anne Paul (City of Derry) took third place in 1:05:09.

After the race the runners enjoyed refreshments in Limavady United Football Club. The prizes were presented by the Deputy Mayor of Limavady Councillor Jack Rankin. Jude’s wife Heather presented the Jude Gallagher Memorial Trophy to race winner Freddie Sittuk.

Springwell Times: Stephen Joyce 58:23, Bryan Edgar 1:00:22 (PB), Paul Thompson 1:01:20, Glenn Millar 1:02:46 (PB), Colin Loughery 1:04:05, John Apperley 1:04:47 (PB), Steven Magill 1:05:31(PB), Christopher Millar 1:05:48, Dave Sexton 1:06:01, Hugh Boyle 1:06:17, Gerard Mullan 1:06:57, Jim Breen 1:07:20, Eddie Clyde 1:07:37, Stephen Fillis 1:08:21, Anthony Higginbottom MBE 1:08:21, Gary Moore 1:09:09 (PB), Paul Campbell 1:09:43 (PB), Dale Corbett 1:11:25 (PB), Pamela McGlade 1:11:34 (PB), Linda Gillen 1:12:03, Nicola Frizelle 1:12:04 (PB), Ricky Cochrane 1:12:16 (PB), Karen McLaughlin 1:12:17, Leslie Ashe 1:12:40, Alan McKeeman 1:12:50 (PB), Colin Apperley 1:12:59 (PB), Hugh Deighan 1:13:41, Ryan Kennedy 1:13:45, Simon Moore 1:14:15, Glenda Whiteside 1:14:17, Robert Workman 1:15:51, Barry McCloskey 1:16:42 (PB), Mervyn Thompson 1:16:43, Alison McAllister 1:16:46 (PB), Kevin McLean 1:17:27, Catherine Bell-Allen 1:17:31, Catherine Pinkerton Moore 1:17:47 (PB), Alex Curran 1:17:55, Noel Harkin 1:18:58, Althea Clarkson 1:20:52, Sarah Chestnutt 1:21:17, Russell Watton 1:21:51, Jim Platt 1:23:17, Linda-Jayne Parkhill 1:23:52 (PB), Rosiland Overend 1:25:38, Amanda Connell 1:26:15 (PB), Emma Jamison 1:27:11(PB), Nigel McNeill 1:28:37, Brendan McLaughlin 1:28:41, Margaret Edgar 1:28:47 (PB), Kieran Cooke 1:30:14 (PB), Louise Grieve 1:30:57 (PB), Rebecca Clarke 1:31:03 (PB), Amanda Simpson 1:31:58 (PB), Shauna Grieve 1:32:11 (PB), Claire Shields 1:32:12 (PB), Davy Patterson 1:33:14, Sandra Rosborough 1:35:19, Caroline Taylor 1:35:42 (PB), Roberta French 1:37:42 (PB), Angela Calderwood 1:38:03, Catherine Byers 1:38:21 (PB), Nicola Farrell 1:42:02 (PB), Michelle Rodgers 1:44:05 (PB), Danny McHenry 1:44:25 (PB), Cathal McFeely 1:48:13, Aimee McFeely 1:48:13 (PB).

These races don’t happen without the help and support of a number of people. Firstly a big thank you to all our sponsors for their support. Springwell had 68 runners competing in the race as well as a myriad of helpers. A spe

cial thanks to all those club members who did registration, car park duties, marshalled the course and helped at the finish line. To Springwell junior members and their parents who helped at the water stations and presented the runners with their medals and water at the finish line, a big thank you. Thanks to the PSNI for excellent cover, control of traffic around the course and at the major roundabouts. The British Red Cross for their presence around the course and at the finish line. Thankfully they were not called upon. Limavady United Football Club for the use of their premises and facilities.

Springwell’s Gillian Wasson and Gerry O’Doherty travelled to Donard Park, Newcastle on Friday evening for the final race in the 2014 Hill & Dale Series (Drinahilly). Nearly two hundred runners turned out for the event, which started and finished in the park and covered approximately 3 miles in and around Donard Forest (Drinahilly).

William McKee (Mourne Runners), who has impressed throughout the Series, stole the headlines winning the close race in 21:10.

Catherine O’Connor (East Down AC) has been a real ‘find’ on the local mountain running scene this year, led the ladies home in 26:02. Springwell’s Gillian Wasson ran well to take second place in 27:01.

Gerry O’Doherty completed the course in 25:36 to win the M55 age category.

Despite high tide at 8.07am, conditions favoured a beach start and finish once again at Saturday’s Portrush parkrun. The only slight drawback was the headwind on the outward stretch and some soft sand in places.

There were 106 runners, 16 first timers, 14 PB’s and 9 different athletics clubs represented.

In addition to the usual number of local parkrun tourists Portrush also welcomed visitors from England and Galway.

Springwell’s Bryan Edgar was first home in a time of 19:44. It was another Springwell 1, 2 & 3 for the ladies. Alison Rankin finished in 21:53 followed by Deborah Gilliland and Karen McLaughlin.

Bryan and Alison also achieved the best age graded scores in their respective categories.

Springwell Times - Bryan Edgar 19:44, Alison Rankin 21:53, Graeme Morrison 22:06, Deborah Gilliland 22:19, David Irwin 22:23, Karen McLaughlin 22:28, Mervyn Thompson 22:37, Robert Workman 22:54, Johnny Goldie 24:50, Rozy Skuce 25:50, Benjamin Logan 26:52, Kay Hack 27:46, Fiona Walls 32:27, Lynn Montgomery 34:39, Ruari Kendall 34:41, Chris & Luke Denton 44:39.

After next week’s Portrush parkrun, there will be the Go Run for Fun 1mile fun run. The run will take place on the beach at 11.30 and is a free for children aged 5 to 14. To register, follow the link:

Katherine Woods was first lady home at the Derry City parkrun in 21:00.