Two '˜holes in one' scored at Lambeg within a week

There were two 'holes in one' scored at competitions at Lambeg Golf Club within a week.

Alan McGuckin (hole in one at par 4 fourth), Bobby Meehan, Senior Cup winner, Stephen Boyd and Jackie Ross.

Peter Taylor hit his in “The Wednesday Hat” on the par three 14th. Craig Tiffen won the competition with 41pts.

Alan McGuckin was the other player to score a “hole in one” but his was at the fourth hole, which is a par 4 and for those not familiar with golf terms this is known as an “Albatross”, three under par, a truly spectacular shot.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

There are very few players in the club who can reach this green with their driver. Both players will be receiving their Boss Watch from the G.U.I.

Eastwood Estate Agents sponsored last Saturday’s stableford competition and it was won by new member Richard Lunn (18) with an impressive 43 points,

Frank Murray (16) edged out Alan Crockard (5) for second place after they both finished on 41 points.

Three players finished with 43 points in The Lisburn Fuels sponsored competition but after the count-back it was Gary Scott (12) who took the honours, and once again it was Frank Murray (16) who took second.

Pushed into third was Tony Hamilton (15). Craig Tiffen won Best Gross.

The Seniors Cup was held on Sunday and when the rain just stopped before the first players teed-off it turned out to be great competition.

One of the highest turn-outs for a few years did not deter the man, who without doubt is at his best, Mr Bobby Meehan (18) who has now lifted his fourth trophy of the season.

Bobby played steady golf throughout his round and returned with 43 points to win outright. Aaron Smylie (21) took the runner-up prize from David Hayman after a count-back when they both finished on 42 points.

The Lambeg Matchplay championship sponsored by “The Chipped Potato” has now reached the quarter final stages after some magnificent matches in the earlier rounds.

The quarter-finals are as follows, Tommy Coulter v Andrew Smyth, Stephen Thornhill v Craig Tiffen, Robert McCullough v John McArdel and Frank Murray v Alan Mason. Matches to be completed by 21st August.