U17s unlucky not to get a point

TOWN Juniors Under 17s were very unlucky to have at least got a draw out of this encounter with Lisburn Distillery.

In the early stages both sides had decent chances but it was Lisburn Distillery who took the lead from a corner when the Whites’ centre-back rose highest to head home and then in an almost identical situation they doubled their lead soon after as the same player headed home his second of the game.

Undeterred, Banbridge fought to get back in the match and it was a super strike that allowed them to do so. After some good build up play the ball bounced up on the edge of the box and a great left foot volley from Eoin Monaghan flew in off the crossbar finding the back of the Distillery net.

This goal settled the Town and they began to play some good football. Matthew Stevenson caused trouble on the right-wing and Dominic Donnelly - in the holding midfielder position, was passing with confidence to the attackers.

As the second half got under way, Banbridge seemed to want the win more than their opponents and their early pressure paid off when after playing a one-two with Monaghan, Ryan Higgins beat two players before finding the bottom corner of the net from the edge of the box with an excellent finish.

The brilliant Ryan Higgins continued to be a source of trouble for Distillery and played an excellent game on the left wing and the Under-17’s pressure finally paid off when, from a corner Stephen Stewart put the ball into the back of the net to the delight of the Town.

Their joy was short-lived however, as only moments later Distillery found themselves with another corner and were again allowed a free header to level the scores at 3-3.

With just minutes to go Distillery found themselves with one last attack and after desperately trying to clear the ball, the Town were undone as the ball agonisingly found the back of the net.

Team: Chris Coleman; Ryan Finnegan; Stephen Stewart; Charlie Donaghy; Michael Mallon (C); Dominic Donnelly; Aaron Heaney; Ryan Higgins; Conor Byrne; Matthew Stevenson; Eoin Monaghan. Subs: Michael Corden; Daryl King; Ben McDowell; Matthew Millar; Chris Orr; Sean Kelly