Down GAA hits high note with virtual performance from 47 clubs

An online collaboration of performers from all 47 GAA clubs in Down has produced a virtual cover version of the Tommy Sands song ‘The County Down’.

Singers and musicians representing all the GAA clubs in Down collaborate online to perform Tommy Sands’ song The County Down
Singers and musicians representing all the GAA clubs in Down collaborate online to perform Tommy Sands’ song The County Down

Each club was asked to choose a singer or musician to perform the local ballad; this in turn was knitted together into one performance. The Down GAA piece was coordinated by Paula Magee and remastered into a strong group performance involving over 120 people from all 47 GAA clubs in Down by Gareth McGreevy.

Tommy Sands said: “To hear this song from my own place County Down being performed so beautifully by young people from every GAA club in this County moves me very deeply”.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The Down GAA Chairman John Devaney said: The lockdown has unleashed some imaginative ways for members to engage in an interactive and entertaining way. Pulling this together, with so many people involved, has been an impressive feat and the performance is a very professional production. So, well done to everyone involved and a particular note of thanks to Gareth McGreevy and Paula Magee”.

With a hiatus in all outdoor GAA activity, members and units have turned to social media to find new and unique ways of maintaining interest and connections. The most recent project in Down involved music and song

The performance can be accessed on Down GAA Website www.downgaa.net/news/virtualsong and on Down GAA Social Media Channels #OfficialDownGAA.

Thanks have been extended to all 120 people involved in performing and putting the performance together:

Eimear Devlin (Aghaderg/Ballyvarley), Aoibheann Sloan (An Ríocht), Diarmuid Cahill (An Ríocht), Sarah Fegan (Annaclone), Ava Cahill (Annaclone), Aoibhin Pyers (Annaclone), Ciara Pyers (Annaclone), Michelle Pyers (Annaclone), Eoin Caughey (Ardglass), Erin Cunningham (Ardglass), Orlagh Murphy (Atticall), Fionnuala Pickering (Aughlisnafin), Tara McAnearney (Ballela), Jana McCarthy (Ballycran, St. Joseph’s), Cathlin Fay (Ballygalget), Aisling McKeown (Ballyholland Harps), Anna Kearney (Ballyholland Harps), Aileen Kearney (Ballyholland Harps), Phoebe Richards (Ballykinlar), Sinead O Hare (Ballymartin), Carol McAllister (Bredagh), Kerry McLaughlin (Bright), Micheal Valentine (Bryansford), Clare Cunningham (Bryansford), Orla Maginess (Bryansford), Louise Brady (Bryansford), Bronach Fegan (Burren, St. Mary’s), Caoimhe Loughran (Burren, St. Mary’s), Annamarie Magorrian (Carryduff), Caoimhe Magorrian (Carryduff), Annie Breen (Castlewellan, St Malachys), Sharon Breen (Castlewellan, St Malachys), Orla McCrickard (Castlewellan, St Malachys), Emma Loughlin (Clann na Banna ), Lorna Carroll (Clann na Banna), Sineas Parfitt (Clann na Banna), Caroline McGreevy (Clonduff), Aoife Trainor (Clonduff), Paul Kelly (Clonduff), Barry McVeigh (Darragh Cross ), Katie Quinn (Downpatrick, Russell Gaelic Union), Megan Smith (Dromara), Patrick Doyle (Dromara), Ella Fegan (Drumaness, St. Colman’s), Tony Ferris (Drumaness, St. Colman’s), Kayla O Hare (Drumgath), Kathleen Garland (Dundrum), Olivia Tolcher (Dundrum), Aoife Grant (Glasdrumman), Tara Grant (Glasdrumman), Niamh McDowell (Glasdrumman), Cara Sloan (Glasdrumman), Clodagh Morgan (Glasdrumman), Ciara Rooney (Glasdrumman), Donna Feeney (Glasdrumman), Emma Matters (Glenn John Martins), Kerrie Kennedy (Glenn John Martins), Caoimhe Murtagh (Glenn John Martins), Fintan Cultra (Kilclief Ben Dearg), Siobhan McEvoy (Kilcoo Eoghan Rua), Claire Scally (Liatroim Fontenoys), Anna-Rose McCabe (Liatroim Fontenoys), Claire Doyle (Liatroim Fontenoys), Cillian McLaverty (Longstone), Kirsten Jennings (Loughinisland), Lauren Deagan (Loughinisland), Peter Magee (Mayobridge ), Eimear Magee (Mayobridge ), Paula Magee (Mayobridge), Cathal Magee (Mayobridge), Ciara Rooney (Mayobridge), Jordan Lively (Mayobridge), Maeve McCartan (Mayobridge), Niamh Martin (Mayobridge), Ava McPolin (Mayobridge), Patrick Lively (Mayobridge Band), Mairead Campbell (Newry Mitchels), Ciara Gorman (Newry Shamrocks), Orlaith Gorman (Newry Shamrocks), Meabh Hegarty (Newry Shamrocks), Fiona Brennan (Newry Shamrocks), Kathy McGrattan (Portaferry, St Patrick’s), Masie Tinnley (Rostrevor, St. Bronagh’s), Kate Rice (Rostrevor, St. Bronagh’s), Gareth McGrevy (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Angela McGreevy (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Orlagh Carson (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Grainne Boss (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Taylor Murin (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Rosie Byrne (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Niamh McCullough (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Sarah McVeigh (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Erin Sands (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Catherine Boyle (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Laura Edgar (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Lindsay Hanna (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Conor Fitzsimons (Saul, St. Patrick’s), Lauren Mooney (Saval), Annamarie Boyle (St. John Bosco), Enya Boyle (St. John’s, Drumnaquoile), Rebecca Hamill (St Michaels), Bronagh McClean (St. Pauls), Niall McClean (St. Pauls), Seamus Mc Clean (St. Pauls), Colleen McCleery (St. Pauls), Aoife McGrath (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Grace Summerville (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Emma-Louise Murphy (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Joanna Doran (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Grainne Mallon (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Ciara Carr (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Lauran Caldwell (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Grace Mallon (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Claudia Mallon (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Sarah Rooney (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Holly Tinnely (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Oisin McCann (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Sophie Gaw (St. Peter’s Warrenpoint), Éilis Rowan (Teconnaught) & Phil Walker (Tullylish).


A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this story on our website. While I have your attention, I also have an important request to make of you.

In order for us to continue to provide high quality and trusted local news on this free-to-read site, I am asking you to also please purchase a copy of our newspaper whenever you are able to do so.

Our journalists are highly trained and our content is independently regulated by IPSO to some of the most rigorous standards in the world. But being your eyes and ears comes at a price. So we need your support more than ever to buy our newspapers during this crisis.

With the coronavirus lockdown having a major impact on many of our local valued advertisers - and consequently the advertising that we receive - we are more reliant than ever on you helping us to provide you with news and information by buying a copy of our newspaper when you can safely.

You can also enjoy unlimited access to the best news from across Northern Ireland and the UK by subscribing to newsletter.co.uk

With a digital subscription, you can read more than five articles, see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Visit https://www.newsletter.co.uk/subscriptions now to sign up.

Thank you