Derry City treble winners back row left to right Noel Larkin, Jack Keay, Paul Doolin, Tim Dalton, Kevin Brady, Paul Hegarty and John Coady. Front row left to right: Felix Healy, Paul Carlyle, Mick Neville, Liam Coyle, Johnny Speak and Stuart Gauld.

Derry City treble winners

Derry City's historic treble was completed on this day 31 years ago.

Jim McLaughlin's side secured the remarkable achievement, which still to this day has yet to be equalled, thanks to Felix Healy's winner against Cork City, in the FAI Cup Final, on May 7, 1989.

McLaughlin's men, who had already won the League title and League Cup, became the first Derry side to win the FAI Cup in the club's history with the win over the Rebel Army, at a packed Dalymount Park.

That Derry squad, which only featured 17 players during their league campaign, produced a host of top league of Ireland greats from that side and cemented their place in Brandywell folklore.

While the Candy Stripes have on a number of occasions missed out on completing another treble, Vinny Perth's Dundalk were a penalty shoot-out away from joining City, but they fell at the final hurdle in last year's FAI Cup Final, when Shamrock Rovers defeated them at the Aviva Stadium, last November.

Page 1 of 3