Radiographers win Team of the Year across UK

A Radiography Team from Craigavon Area Hospital have not only received the Northern Ireland Team of the Year but have also been recognised as top across the UK.

Ann Tate, Site Lead Radiographer, Helena Kincaid, from Lurgan Audrey Mitchell, Clonoe, Janet Eagle, from Portadown the award winning team and Jeanette Robinson, Head of Diagnostic Services for the Southern Trust.

Janet Eagle, Helena Kinkaid and Audrey Mitchell have been awarded the prestigious UK wide Radiography Team of the Year 2015 by the Society and College of Radiographers at a ceremony in the House of Commons.

The trio were recognised for their innovation, dedication and intuition in delivering a life changing service to women with fertility problems.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Their service redesign, the first of its kind in the UK, has completely streamlined the way fertility problems are diagnosed and treated, increasing the number of procedures carried out each day and reducing waiting lists.

More than 250,000 diagnostic scans and examinations are carried out by the Trust each year.

Head of Diagnostics for the Trust Jeanette Robinson said: “We are absolutely delighted that Janet, Helena and Audrey’s hard work, commitment to service improvement and dedication to their patients has been recognised in this way. This team have truly demonstrated how by transforming services to be much more efficient and effective, we can transform the lives of our patients.

“Diagnosis of infertility is a very intimately invasive, emotionally and psychologically challenging examination. By ensuring that women are at the heart of everything they do, this team have created a really patient centred service. They have developed their own skills, reducing the need for radiology and gynaecology support, ensuring continuity of care and privacy and dignity for their patients.”