Awards time for Rathfern Rangers

There were trophy doubles for Alan Kerby and Ronald Stockard at Rathfern Rangers’ annual presentation night.

Rathfern Rangers striker David Moore.

Rathfern achieved manager Bill Campbell’s pre-season target of finishing in the top six in Division 1b. One man who certainly hit the ground running was Gary Orr, who scored 35 goals after joining from Mossley FC.

The two notable highlights of Rathfern’s seasons were cup victories over Premier Division sides; Killyleagh YC in the Irish Cup, and Kilmore Rec in the Clarence Cup.

“I’m pleased enough with what we’ve done, we’re trying to play good football,” Campbell told the Times. “We’ve laid the foundations, but now we’ll be looking to maybe get a few in to strengthen the squad and push on next season.”

Chairman David McCrea announced the following winners:

First-team Manager’s Player of the Year: (tie) Alan Kerby and David Moore.

First-team Players’ Player of the Year: Alan Kerby.

First-team Leading Goalscorer: Gary Orr.

Second-team Manager’s Player of the Year: Ronald Stockard.

Second-team Players’ Player of the Year: Ronald Stockard.

Second-team Leading Goalscorer: David Glendenning.

Da Sugar Merit Award: Gary Robinson.

Rathfern would like to thank sponsors John Reavey Solicitors and Whitehouse Working Men’s Club.