Homers emerge victorious in first Harryville ‘derby’ of new season

Waveney Swifts captain Gary Boyd puts pressure on Shore Wanderers player Willie Brown. INBT34-241ACWaveney Swifts captain Gary Boyd puts pressure on Shore Wanderers player Willie Brown. INBT34-241AC
Waveney Swifts captain Gary Boyd puts pressure on Shore Wanderers player Willie Brown. INBT34-241AC
Harryville Homers won the eagerly-awaited first Harryville ‘derby’ of the new season on Saturday.

Robert Duddy’s men eliminated old rivals Carniny Rangers from the County Antrim Post O’Kane Cup, winning by the odd goal in three.

Elsewhere in the same competition there were high-scoring wins for Penarol and All Saints Old Boys, while third division Wakehurst Star produced the biggest surprise, knocking out Division Two St Comgall’s.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Harryville Homers 2, Carniny Rangers 1: As half time loomed, James Gracey’s powerful run created confusion in the home team’s defence and the unfortunate David Gibson turned the ball into his own net to give Carniny a slender lead.

Manager Duddy rang the changes midway through the second period and Alan Rainey centred perfectly for the on rushing Jasin Magill to calmly side foot past keeper Alex McCosh.

Homers went for the winner and Gary Baird went down the Carniny right and produced a teasing centre for Rainey to guide the ball into the net.

Ballykeel 3, FC Penarol 6 (AET): Penarol took the lead after 30 minutes a quick break resulted in Colin Corry chipping the onrushing keeper.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Just before half time Ballykeel equalised when David Thompson’s shot took a deflection and finished up in the net.

Ballykeel took the lead with a Barry McDowell bullet header home from a Mark Turston corner.

Penarol got the equaliser when Colin Corry scored his second with a decisive finish from the edge of the box.

Penarol scored what they thought was the winner when Jonny Clarke swept the ball home from 10 yards but right on the final whistle Steven Mark hammered home to send the match into extra time.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Penarol regained the lead with a strong shot from Jonny Clarke, then Colin Corry completed his hat trick when he chipped the keeper before Darren Cummings rounded the keeper to finish.

All Saints OB 6, FC Moylena 2: It took Saints only six minutes to open the scoring when Ryan Wilkinson played a great ball over the top for Aaron Wilkinson to smash the ball home from 18 yards out.

On 25 minutes Saints made it 2-0 when Ryan Brady’s free kick was headed home by Philip Lynn. Saints killed the tie off when Ryan Wilkinson again split the Moylena defence for Aaron Wilkinson to round the keeper to score.

Saints made it 4-0 soon after the restart when Gavin Burnside played in Aaron Wilkinson who coolly found the net to complete his hat trick. Conor Johnstone headed home a Ben Connolly free kick for Moylena at the back post, and then Paul Milliken made it 4-2 when he headed home unmarked.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Saints made it 5-2 with 15 minutes to go when Aaron Wilkinson played the ball back to Burnside to fire home off the post.

Saints completed the scoring when Aaron Wilkinson raced clear and he unselfishly squared to Ryan Wilkinson.

St Comgalls 3, Wakehurst Star 4 (AET): After 10 minutes a Wakehurst poor goal kick went to Karl Ashe who laid it on to Dean Shaw who took the around the Star keeper and slotted home.

Wakehurst replied when Michael Ross dispossessed a defender before slipping the ball past the keeper.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

On the half-hour Lee Rae put St Comgall’s back in front from the penalty spot after a handball.

Star got their reward after 50 minutes when Kyle Henry scored with a header.

The first period of extra-time saw Star substitute Stuart Erwin score on his debut with a close-range finish but again St Comgall’s brought the tie level through Ashe.

With five minutes left, Michael Ross latched onto a long goal kick to lob the advancing Saints keeper to complete the shock result.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The next League Meeting is on Monday 26th August at 8pm in Ballymena United Social & Sports Club.


Division One: Abbeyview 2, Randalstown Sky Blues 5; Ahoghill Rovers 0, Harryville Homers 6; Carnlough Swifts 3, All Saints OB 5; FC Moylena 1, Ahoghill Thistle 5; Michelin 0, Carniny Rangers 1; FC Penarol 2, Ballykeel 3; Shore Wanderers 0, Clough Rangers 4

Division Two: Holywell 0, Braid United 1; North End Shamrocks 4, Randalstown 1; Raceview 3, FC Antrim 1; Riverdale 3, Cloughmills 2; Seven Towers 1, St Comgalls 2; Connor FC 3, Waveney Swifts 1; Braid United 2, Cushendall 3

Division Three: FC Bayern Money 1, Woodside 4; Glenravel 7, Cullybackey Olympic 1; Lisnafillan Swifts 1, Galgorm Blues; Steadfast 0, Templepatrick 1; Atletico Antrim 8, Wakehurst Star 2; FC Bayern Money 1, Glenravel 1; Newpark Olympic 10, Steadfast 0

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

County Antrim Post O’Kane Cup, round two: Holywell 7, FC Antrim 2; Seven Towers 1, Michelin 2; Clough Rangers 3, Abbeyview 2(AET); Randalstown Sky Blues 12, Riverdale 2; Galgorm Blues 1, Ahoghill Thistle 8; Templepatrick 7, Woodside 2; Carnlough Swifts 3, Raceview 2 (AET); Waveney Swifts 3, Shore Wanderers 4; Cullybackey Olympic 5, Randalstown 1; Ahoghill Rovers 1, Connor FC 5


Tuesday 20th August (6.45pm) - Division One: Ahoghill Thistle v Carnlough Swifts (Ahoghill); All Saints OB v Ahoghill Rovers (Showgrounds 5); Carniny Rangers v FC Penarol (Wakehurst 6); Clough Rangers v Abbeyview (Clough); Michelin v FC Moylena; Randalstown Sky Blues v Ballykeel; Shore Wanderers v Harryville Homers (Forum).

Wednesday 21st August (6.45pm) - O’Kane Cup 1st Round: Glenravel v FC Bayern Money (Waveney 2).

BSML Division Three: Cullybackey Olympic v Templepatrick (Tober Park); Galgorm Blues v Steadfast (Galgorm); Wakehurst Star v Newpark Olympic (Dunfane 1); Woodside v Atletico Antrim (Wakehurst 4)

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Saturday 24th August (10.15am) - Division One: Abbeyview v Ballykeel (Forum); Ahoghill Rovers v Carnlough Swifts (Ahoghill); Clough Rangers v FC Moylena (Clough); FC Penarol v Ahoghill Thistle (Showgrounds 5); Harryville Homers v Randalstown Sky Blues.

Division Two: Cloughmills v FC Antrim; Cushendall v North End Shamrocks; St Comgalls v Braid United (Connor); Raceview FC v Riverdale (Broughshane); Randalstown v Holywell; Waveney Swifts v Seven Towers (Waveney 2).

Division Three: Galgorm Blues v Cullybackey Olympic (Galgorm); Lisnafillan Swifts v Atletico Antrim (Showgrounds 4); Templepatrick v Glenravel (Forum); Wakehurst Star v Steadfast (Dunfane 2); Woodside v Newpark Olympic (Wakehurst 3).

Related topics: