SLIDESHOW: Homers beat Carniny to win O’Kane Cup

Harryville Homers continued their love affair with the County Antrim Post O’Kane Cup by beating Carniny Rangers 2-1 in the final.

Darren Campbell celebrates after scoring Carninys winning goal in their 2-1 OKane Cup final victory.

A Darren Campbell goal two minutes from time saw Homers complete a comeback win to win the showpiece Boxing Day final for the sixth successive season.

In a tight first half both sides struggled to settle with little in the way of goal mouth action.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

On 25 minutes the game burst into life. Frazer Young drove a free kick goal ward and Ryan Martin failed to hold it and the ball fell to Dean Dunlop to poke home from close range.

Darren Campbell celebrates after scoring Carninys winning goal in their 2-1 OKane Cup final victory.

Just before half time Carniny almost doubled their lead when Dean Dunlop slipped in Ryan Bamber but his shot was well saved by Ryan Martin as the half finished with Carniny holding a narrow lead.

The second half saw a more determined Homers take the game to Carniny and Carniny keeper Sean Ward did well to come out and save at the feet of Alan Rainey just after the hour mark.

Twenty minutes from time Honers drew level. Jasin Magill flicked the ball on for Alan Rainey who had beat the offside trap and he fired low past Sean Ward to make it 1-1. Homers were well on top now but were struggling to break down a resolute Carniny defence.

Two minutes from time Homers struck what proved to be the winner. David Nicholl crossed from the right to the back post for Paul McNeill whose header was palmed out by Sean Ward for Darren Campbell to bundle the ball home.

Right on the final whistle Carniny thought they had forced extra time when Ryan Bamber headed across goal for Tyler Caulfield who headed home but the goal was ruled out for offside as Homers held on to win the O’Kane Cup once again.

After the final whistle Jason Connolly on behalf of sponsors County Antrim Post presented the O’Kane Cup to Winning Harryville Homers Captain Ian Russell as the celebrations began.

The BSML would like to thank Country Bites, who kindly sponsored the match ball for the Cup Final.

Harryville Homers – Ryan Martin, Justin Rowe, Marcus Spratt, Ian Russell, Richard Reid, Gary Baird, Darren Campbell, Jason Logan, Alan Rainey, Paul McNeill, Jasin Magill. Subs: David Nicholl for Jasin Magill, David McWhirter for Jason Logan, Jordan Craig for Justin Rowe. Unused subs – Gary Bonnes and Stephen French.

Carniny Rangers – Sean Ward, Joseph Nixon, Ryan Balmer, Richard Culbertson, Alan Norton, Tyler Caulfield, Shane Donnelly, Ryan Bamber, Zach Barr, Dean Dunlop, Frazer Young. Subs: Alan Fullerton for Shane Donnelly, Darren Kidd for Dean Dunlop. Unused subs – Dean Wright, Ryan Crawford and Jonathan Clarke.

Referee – Mr Wayne Lewis. Assistant Referees – Mr Brian Patterson and Mr Lindsay McConnell.


Saturday, January 2, 2016 - Toals Co Antrim Junior Shield 4th Round (1.30pm): Ahoghill Thistle v Killough FC (Ahoghill).

firmus energy Division One (10.15am): Abbeyview v Ballykeel (Forum); All Saints OB v FC Moylena (Showgrounds 5); Carniny Rangers v Newpark Olympic (Wakehurst 1); Glenravel v Clough Rangers (Cargan); Raceview v Harryville Homers (Broughshane).

firmus energy Division Two: Galgorm Blues v Ahoghill Rovers (Galgorm); Michelin v FC Penarol; Randalstown v Cloughmills; Seven Towers v Cushendall (Showgrounds 4); Waveney Swifts v Sporting Ballymoney (Waveney 2); Woodside v Holywell (Wakehurst 2).