Hundreds run in Jude Gallagher Memorial ‘Round the Bridges’

By Kenneth Bacon

Gary Keenan (President Athletics NI) Springwell Ladies Team Glenda Whiteside, Fran McFadden, Gillian Wasson, Ciara Toner and Columb Knowles (Race Director)

The popular event, hosted by Springwell Running Club, is well known for its fast and flat course and despite the breezy conditions, the athletes made full use of the course to produce excellent times.

Gary Slevin (City of Derry) led the runner’s home breaking the tape in 56:03. John Black (North Belfast) clocked a brilliant new personal best of 56:21 for second place, with Paul Thompson of the host club Springwell completed the top three in 58:38.

Sign up to our daily NorthernIrelandWorld Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

In the ladies race, Hannah Oldroyd (UK Netrunner) dominated proceedings crossing the line to win in 1:02:37. Gillian Wasson (Springwell RC) set a new club record for the distance to finish second in 1:04:04, while team mate Ciara Toner impressed with a 1:05:31 for third place.

Gary Keenan (President Athletics NI) Gillian Wasson (Springwell RC) second, Hannah Oldroyd (UK Netrunners) first, Ciara Toner (Springwell RC) third and Columb Knowles (Race Director).

Mens Results: 1st Gary Slevin (City of Derry AC) 56:03, 2nd John Black (North Belfast Harriers) 56:21, 3rd Paul Thompson (Springwell Running Club) 58:38. M40 Nigel Davenport (Inishowen AC) 1:02:14; M45 Steve Darby (UK Netrunner) 59:31; M50 Gerard Mullan (Springwell RC) 1:08:21; M55 Eric Montgomery (Lagan Valley) 1:07:14; M60 Jim Breen (Springwell RC) 1:06:52; M65 Brendan McLaughlin (Springwell RC) 1:32:02; M70 Christy McMonagle (City of Derry) 1:18:06. Team Prize: Springwell RC - Paul Thompson, Glenn Millar, Stephen Joyce and David Jackson.

Ladies Results:  1st Hannah Oldroyd (UK Netrunner) 1:02:37, 2nd Gillian Wasson (Springwell RC) 1:04:04, 3rd Ciara Toner (Springwell RC) 1:05:31. F35 Glenda Whiteside (Springwell RC) 1:08:08; F40 Fran McFadden (Springwell RC) 1:08:24; F45 Henrietta Elves (Inishowen AC) 1:12:15, F50 Kate Meehan (Foyle Valley) 1:24:23, F55 Rosemary Hargan (Acorns AC) 1:21:33; F60 Bridgid Quinn (Ballymena Runners) 1:29:21. Team Prize: Springwell RC – Gillian Wasson, Ciara Toner, Glenda Whiteside and Fran McFadden.

These races don’t happen without the help and support of a number of people. A big thank you to all our sponsors for their support. Springwell had 61 runners competing in the race as well as a myriad of helpers. Thanks to all those club members who did registration, car park duties, marshalled the course and helped at the finish line. Thanks to Springwell junior members and their parents who helped at the water stations and presented the runners with their medals and water at the finish line. Thanks to the members of the club who provided and served the refreshments.